On safari


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Lake Naivasha
July 25th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We started off on Monday morning and headed to Lake Naivasha, west of Nairobi and got to know all of the group. They are all really lovely and we just started to get to know each other. We visited a giraffe and elephant sanctury where we could get right up close to the animals as I am sure you will see from my pictures.

In the evening our cook whos name is Good Luck (don't ask) cooked us a lovely meal and Kim, our tour leader who is excellent, gave us a run down of what was to come.

The next day we went on a walking safari in the Kenyan savannah and got so close to all the wild animals it was amazing. Giraffes, zebras, impala, gazelles, warthogs (lol!) and so many more. We walked up to a viewpoint to see a lake in a crater which had lots of flamingos in it. The algae in the water made it green and it was so pretty although I wouldn't recommend a swim!

In the afternoon I went horseriding among the animals which was great although I didn't get to go as fast as I would have liked. The man taking us didn't seem to think I was ready, grrr.

That eveing we got everyone up to the bar and had a hilarious game of pool in which a new shot was discovered....the Masai Mara spear shot! hehe, u had to be there.

This morning we have been driving to Lake Nakuru and have just stopped in the town.

The people here are all so so friendly and smiley and the kids are adorable. They really want to get to know you and arn't always asking for money like in other countries. A lot of them speak English which makes things a lot easier.

Anyway, must dash as have very little time. Hopefully I'll be able to put some photos on soon!

Advertisement



26th July 2006

Nice report!
Hi Nicola, Nice report of your visit to Naivasha and Nakuru, I`ve been there many times, I look forward to seeing your photos. Best wishes from England. Tricia
27th July 2006

merekats
So when are you going to find me one of these babies? Don't forget, I want a couple bought home! ;o)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb