Nairobi


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

I arrived in Nairobi on Saturday morning and everything was all going very well....got my money changed, got a visa, got through customs etc and then went down to the baggage reclaim to get my bag. Unfortunately, because my flight in London had been delayed for a while and I had only had about 20 minutes to catch my next plane in Addis Ababa they had not had time to transfer my luggage. There were a few other people in my situation and understandaly we were all pretty annoyed! I talked to a man from Ethiopian Airlines and he took all of our details and said that it should come over on a flight tomorrow.

I met my taxi driver and we drove down into Nairobi and to my hotel.
I got a bit of sleep that afternoon and in the evening met some people from Holland who were on an overland trip but with a duth company. They were all really nice and they speak near perfect English.

Sunday morning I met 3 Irish girls who are on my trip whose names I can't spell so I won't write them down. After hassling the airport for news on my bag and not getting very far we decided to go for a walk into Nairobi and see what it was like.....very dusty and busy from what I could tell! It was ok though although we soon got pulled into a tourist market. The men there are really pushy and will do anything to make you buy something which really irritated me so I refused to buy anything but the Irish girls got a few things before realising that they had been ripped off because the phones in a phone shop cost less than what they had just paid. Ah well, something they won't do again methinks!

Anyway, one of the girls has a second cousin in Nairobi and he came to see her in the afternoon and ended up taking us to his house and church (he's a priest) and we went to see a local school. It was a private one so pretty good and they had a lovely swimming pool in the grounds. We went to a local bar for some Kenyan beer before heading back to the hotel to meet our group.

Whilst I had been gone my bag had been dropped off at the hotel :D which was a major relief and I could finally change into some different clothes! I ate with some people on my trip and they were all really lovely although so far the majority are teachers.....ahhhh! lol. We are starting off with 13 people and then picking up a further 15 in the next few days which will be cool but means there will be hardly any room on the bus!

Today we are going to see elephants and giraffes and then camping by Lake Nakuru so I'll give you an update in a few days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb