More Meetings - Day 2


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
September 28th 2009
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Saga Continues



I am up again early today.

I met with Rahul in the morning, as well as his father Rajinder Kapila. Rahul is our Land Operator in Kenya and books all of our ground items like hotels, vans, etc. He is very savvy, extremely knowledgeable, and very concerned about making everything work well for us including security. Rajinder, his father, is a semi-retired lawyer in Nairobi with a 50 year reputation in practice. We are using his firm and he has some very good lawyers who are now working for us in making sure our requirements for working in Kenya are all in place.

We have several hours of meetings and discussions, which go very well. I also take the opportunity this morning to open a bank account in Kenya for our own future needs as we increase our activities in Kenya. The banks are quite different here as compared to back home. Our regular chequing account here will earn 10%!i(MISSING)nterest in our absense.

I have them drop me off at the Sarit center after our meetings so that I can purchase a few more small items. I grabbed a cab back to the hotel to meet with Moraa, our long-time associate in Kenya, for lunch and more discussions.

We talk for about about 4 hours and make some real breakthroughs in developing the model for micro-finance. I can't believe how successful my trip has been and we depart in the early afternoon with high hopes and heartfelt goodbyes.

At about 8:00pm, Rahul calls me and comes to the hotel to meet again for more discussions. He brings a friend with him who he introduces as Inder. Inder is a wonderful and sensitive man. His wife works as a Regional Director for Plan International and oversees all operations for Africa. Unfortunately she is away in the Sudan at the moment, but he expresses his excitement that we might get to connect somehow down the road. We talk all evening about development work and they finally leave for home at 11:30 pm.

I am exhausted, and feel the start of a little bit of a scratchy throat. Too much talking, I reckon....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb