More post-posted posts


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 22nd 2005
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

October 22nd

Flight to Nairobi

When we boarded the plane to Nairobi, the first thought that went through my mind was: OMG is this the right flight!? The 777, which is a huge huge plane, had at most 10 black people on board. Didn’t feel like we were heading off to Africa at all! Anyway… once again I was seated nowhere near my colleagues Melanie or Chris because the “wonderful” travel agent misspelled my name first time around and had to cancel then re-book my ticket… but once again I had a front-row seat, i.e. plenty of leg room! Nice!!! I have to say, I was a little annoyed to be seated between two strangers, one who had his jacket on my seat (way to make me feel welcome), but that was probably more fatigue and stress than anything else. Take-off was shaky and I couldn’t wait to down a drink… until I started chatting it up with my neighbor on the right (the one who had his stuff on my seat). Turns out Oscar is from Spain and works for a travel agency which organizes these crazy trips all over Africa! He also spent quite a few years growing up in Africa so I had 1 000 000 million questions to ask him! Poor guy… he mentioned that he normally sleeps from take-off to landing… hehe not this time around… but for the record it wasn’t all my fault… we all had these cool little individual tv/computer screens… At one point he told me that I could lean on his shoulder to sleep on (cause you know it ain’t easy to be comfortable and sleep when you’re not in first class…and i was smack in the middle...) At first the idea of leaning on a total stranger seemed very odd and I was a bit taken aback (and I mean he is Spanish… you Spanish boys… lol) but by the 5th hour and having not slept at all in I don’t know how long, the idea seemed wonderful and I managed to sleep for at least 2 hours… Actually some cowboy American dude came up to us later to tell us he wanted to take a picture when we were sleeping cause we looked like such cute couple … Moment of awkwardness anyone!? LoL It was pretty funny actually…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb