Yet another post-posted post


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 23rd 2005
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

October 23

Nairobi - glad I wasn’t alone….

Wow. We’ve landed and I’m finally in Africa. I could hardly believe it…. Until we got off the plane. I haven’t seen very many airports, but Toto, I was no longer in Kansas honey!

I think french would best describe the feeling as we got off the plane...

Une bouffée de chaleur dense est venu nous saluer a notre débarquement. L’air était si lourd. Et bien sur il y avait cet odeur, cet odeur qu’on ne peut retrouver qu’ici. Un mélange de sueur, d’humidité, de poussiere.

It was a little scary going through those security visa/customs people. But we were lucky because they didn't try to get us to pay $50 USD for our visas (FYI if ever you have a stop-over in Kenya which is less than 24 hrs I believe, you should only need to pay $20 USD). Now as soon as we walked out we were swarmed by people, most of them offering us a taxi ride to our hotel. We finally did chose someone and oh my god... First of all the actual taxi was this van falling apart, and second of all, people drive way too fast and way too dangerously. I figured if something bad was gonna happen, it would be from our way to our hotel. Really. Thirdly it is known that people may try to hijack your car in Nairobi. Most people go out at night in convoys. And it was already 9pm and pitch dark. I will totally admit it: I was scared shitless. We finally get to our hotel which was very soso... Melanie flooded the bathroom floor because she forgot to put the shower curtain inside the bathtub (hey we just had quite an exhausting trip) and we basically didn't sleep. I guess it was ok cause we had to be up by 5am anyway the next morning. So we watched a special CNN coverage of Ashley Simpson (wooohooo) and then started watching High Infidelity I believe... and of course it just so happened that the crazy torrid sex scene had to be playing when our breakfast was delivered. Great impression we made there. Good thing we are leaving.... NOW (and that we had no idea that a plane had crashed in Nigeria... thank you Chris for also not sharing!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb