Diani Beach


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Human PyramidHuman PyramidHuman Pyramid

Who thought putting Dan on top was a good iedea!

Human Tower War!!
Saturday 16th

6am up for a 7am departure - we crossed over the Kenyan border and a long journey to Nairobi. I used Andrea’s room to shower & repack my bag before getting the overnight bus to Mombassa.

On the nightbus I had all the back seats to myself, and lay out to sleep, although the bumpy roads meant that I flew into the air on several occasions. At midnight we stopped, and unfortunately more people got on so I lost my bed.

Sunday 17th

We arrived at Mombassa at 3.30am. I thought we were arriving at 6am, so I got in a taxi for an hour drive to Diani Beach. Since only the night porter was there when I arrived, I slept on the sofa until 8am, when I had breakfast and was shown into my room - a hut on stilts, with a little balcony and two basic single beds with mosquito nets - basic, but beautifully set in the jungle.

I found my way to the beach, and walked (into the wind) along it to see how far the kite surfing centre was and to sort out tomorrow’s lesson.

Back to Forty Thieves Bar (opposite the hostel), which is the only bar/restaurant open on the beach-front as it is low season. I met some volunteer workers and spent the rest of the afternoon with them. It was quite busy, but I’m not sure what it’ll be like during the week. I think I’ll get bored spending two weeks here alone.

Monday 18th

At breakfast I met three people from London - Claudie, Dan and Lucy. They said that they would meet me after my kite surfing lesson.

It was very hard work walking to the lesson into the wind. We kitted up in very gusty strong wind, got into the water to do bodydragging (where the kite pulls you in the water, rather than on the board) but the kite lifted me two metres out of the water and carried me into the air. I managed to steer back into the beach, but that was the end of the lesson as I didn’t want to lose interest by hurting myself.

Met up with the others and spent the afternoon and evening with them.

Tuesday 19th - Friday 22nd

Spent the mornings attempting to complete my
Quick sunbathe before the wind picks upQuick sunbathe before the wind picks upQuick sunbathe before the wind picks up

from the left- Emily, Sam, Kirsty, Me, Lucy, and Claudie
Level 2 Kite Surfing, which I was successful in doing. If the weather had been kinder it would’ve taken only a day!

The afternoons were spent with Claudie, Dan and Lucy, along with three girls - Sam, Kirsty and Emily (who recognised me from my childhood dance classes!). Time was mostly spent playing cards, doing quizzes, and trying to sunbathe (but giving up due to the sand blowing around in the wind). Dan taught us a great game called Mafia.

We also spent a lot of our time avoiding a pervy old guy called Ken (who owned Nairobi Backpackers), who later punched the owner of our backpackers’ hostel, got arrested, hit the police officer, and unsuccessfully tried to escape from jail. We assumed he was left in jail to be beaten up by the local inmates for being a Muzungu (European).



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Camels waiting for customersCamels waiting for customers
Camels waiting for customers

It will be a long wait
Talented veg sellersTalented veg sellers
Talented veg sellers

Juggles and spins bowls
Human tower fightHuman tower fight
Human tower fight

Check out the video!
Goodbye stiltsGoodbye stilts
Goodbye stilts

Me, Claudie, Fester, Lucy, Dan, Kirsty, Emily and Sam


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb