Arrived in Mtwapa village safe & well...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
July 28th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The flight seemed to go on & on & on - I couldn't wait to land Nairobi as it is my first time in Africa. It was so great to step of the plane & see the landscape before me. I had a connecting flight to get so I hurried as we landed later than expected due to a delay at Heathrow. I only had just enought time to get my bags off the plane & drop them into the next flight from Nairobi to Momabsa.



When I landed at Mombasa, I collected my bags so quickly as I couldn't wait to meet Moses. I walked through the arrival doors & scanned the mass of people, who were all shouting if I wanted a taxi. Then I saw Moses, and beside him his little boy Keegan who is two & a half & just knee height. Moses welcomed me with a handshake & then a hug. It felt great to be here. Keegan was a little shy at first but no sooner had we started our taxi journey to the village of Mtwapa he was smiling & talking with me.


The taxi journey was crazy. I rolled down the window (initially because of the heat - although Moses thinks its cold!!??) so I could look out and see Mombasa. It was so busy - people everywhere & no sort of road structure or building structure. Houses are made of make-do materials as well as a lot of the buildings. People are pushing hand carts in & out of the tracks, over the busy roads filled with things to sell - water, food etc. Children, men, women are all around. It was a shock but so interesting to see.


We arrived at Moses house & it is truly lovely, really well kept and he & his family are so warm & welcoming. I met Emily (his wife) and also his second son Shakill who is only two months old. I unpacked my things and we all had breakfast together. We pray before each meal & eat mostly with our hands. Food so far has been great - loved it all! 😊


So far, I have been to see the beach, tried the local beer (Tusker) whilst listening to local music, eaten lots of fish, tried ugali (mashed up maize plant), seen an aloe vera plant, eaten lots of fresh fruit - that tastes a million times better than ours - the mangoes are amazing! And most importantly, yesterday I visited about 5 of the local schools.... They ranged considerably in their development & I will tell you about that in my next blog... This is enough for now I think!


I'm having such a fantastic time & loving every minute. And I only 1 mosquito bite so far whoo! 😱


Love to everyone & be in touch soon xxx

Advertisement



30th July 2009

Enjoy Mtwapa and Malindi!
Hi Victoria, Nice to see you are in Mtwapa and enjoying yourself. I lived in Kenya for a long time and know the coast well. No doubt you will visit Malindi and Mombasa, this is probably the coolest time of the year so Moses would think it was Baridi (cold) Enjoy the people and places and the Tusker and keep the mozzies at bay! Pat in North Yorkshire.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb