Arrived in Mtwapa village safe & well...


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
July 28th 2009
Published: July 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The flight seemed to go on & on & on - I couldn't wait to land Nairobi as it is my first time in Africa. It was so great to step of the plane & see the landscape before me. I had a connecting flight to get so I hurried as we landed later than expected due to a delay at Heathrow. I only had just enought time to get my bags off the plane & drop them into the next flight from Nairobi to Momabsa.



When I landed at Mombasa, I collected my bags so quickly as I couldn't wait to meet Moses. I walked through the arrival doors & scanned the mass of people, who were all shouting if I wanted a taxi. Then I saw Moses, and beside him his little boy Keegan who is two & a half & just knee height. Moses welcomed me with a handshake & then a hug. It felt great to be here. Keegan was a little shy at first but no sooner had we started our taxi journey to the village of Mtwapa he was smiling & talking with me.


The taxi journey was crazy. I rolled down the window (initially because of the heat - although Moses thinks its cold!!??) so I could look out and see Mombasa. It was so busy - people everywhere & no sort of road structure or building structure. Houses are made of make-do materials as well as a lot of the buildings. People are pushing hand carts in & out of the tracks, over the busy roads filled with things to sell - water, food etc. Children, men, women are all around. It was a shock but so interesting to see.


We arrived at Moses house & it is truly lovely, really well kept and he & his family are so warm & welcoming. I met Emily (his wife) and also his second son Shakill who is only two months old. I unpacked my things and we all had breakfast together. We pray before each meal & eat mostly with our hands. Food so far has been great - loved it all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb