2nd Week In Ghana


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Western » Tarkwa
January 27th 2013
Published: January 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Our second week in Tarkwa was spent taking the VPA system live and ironing out any issues as they arose.

I tried my first “Local” meal on Friday and it was an interesting experience. My Lunch consisted of a starch called Fufu and a Fish and Beef Soup. Fufu is made by boiling starchy vegetables like cassava, yams or plaintains and then pounding them into a dough-like consistency.

We spend our Friday evening at the rec-club playing pool and enjoying some drinks.

The original plan on Saturday was for us to go out with Gert and Heidi again but that did not happen as Gert was called into the Plant to sort out some issues.

As Andre van de Laar joined us only on Monday he did not get to go to the beach with us so we decided to take a Taxi to the beach for the day. It was an interesting ride not quite as scary as could be expected but it was uncomfortably hot. The locals obviously do not feel the heat in the same way we do so there was no Aircon and especially the drive back was fairly steamy.

If that was the worst part of the trip I would have been thankful but like the true idiot that I am I decided to go into the ocean with my glasses on and was promptly reminded that of the power of even these placid waves.

Sunday was all in all more pleasant we finally got round to playing some Golf at a local course at a Manganese Mine called Nsuta Mine.

I started fairly well but my game got progressively worse as went along. The heat had some influence but I think my lack of practice had more to do with it.

Lunch was followed by some a refreshing dip in the pool and some very cold drinks. The Restaurant at the Golf course serves some amazing food which today included Lobster cooked in a creamy garlic souce which was delicious.

The Rest of my Sunday was spent relaxing and taking a long walk inside the village.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb