The Mali Finale! part 1


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Upper East » Bolgatanga
April 25th 2009
Published: April 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Team MaliTeam MaliTeam Mali

Meet the crew- Bethany, Aubrie, Ryan and Myself
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I give you the crowning glory of my West African experience. My ultimate adventure of epic proportions...the bank-busting, high-flying, sometimes frustrating, yet always exciting, triple country tour, affectionately dubbed, The Mali Finale!

An escapade that spanned three countries, twelve days, and over twenty townships. How'd I travel? You name it, I probably took it. Private car, public bus, four by four trucks, cramped fifteen passenger vans, ferry boats, horse and cart, motor bike, camels, taxi, tro tro...
Our goal was two-fold...Make it to the legendary Timbuktu and explore the massive rock escarpments and native villages of the Dogon Country.

This trip was so big, that it will easily span eight separate entries... okay, actually I'm just too lazy to write it all at once! Ergo this entry is super short...but don't worry, they'll get longer! Ready for this? Words cannot do my last big adventure in Africa justice, but I'll do my best! That being said...or written...whatever... let the Mali Finale begin!

The team consisting of Ryan, Bethany, Aubrie, and myself, departed the hostel Monday morning a quarter after seven on April the thirteenth. We took a taxi to our bus station, grabbed some
FlagsFlagsFlags

In case you ever wondered what the flags of Burkina Faso and Mali look like
breakfast while we were there and played the waiting game. As with any Ghanaian cross country ride, the trip was long and relatively uneventful...I mean, just usual stuff... not leaving on time, bus breaking down, having to spend the night at the Bolgatanga bus station... you know, typical hold-ups.

We eventually arrived at the border Tuesday morning, and passed through with minimal hassle, but a sizeable investment of time...what else is new?... Any who once we got through immigration we were back on track, and only a couple hours away from our first destination, the capital city of Burkina Faso, Ouagadougou...

Advertisement



26th April 2009

Lazyness
Brother, i fulley understand this 8 entry business. I still have yet to finish my entry of my semana Santa excursions. One more entry i hope, and a picture gallery!! This adventure of yours how ever sounds amazingly epic. I'm excited!

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 15; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.2mb