2 weeks into the adventure


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
February 15th 2008
Published: February 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Abdoussalam and IAbdoussalam and IAbdoussalam and I

He wanted a picture of me and him to remind him of his time at Osu...I had to go to an internet cafe to print it off from him...he was so grateful when I gave it to him that I got the biggest hug ever!
When I first set up this travel blog I didnt think that I would have much to report everytime I managed to get to an internet cafe but I was completely wrong! Something interesting or something new happens everyday.....not enough time or patience (!) for me to write everything down but I'll try...

When I arrived at the orphanage on Thursday there was a little boy sat under the tree playing with the younger children, several of the aunties had tried to talk to him in both Ga and Twi but they said he wasnt responding to them and that they thought he was French..Out of all the volunteers I was the only one who could speak a little of his language, so I sat down with him to try and understand why he was here etc....Through broken english (the boy) and broken french (me) he managed to communicate his story to me with the aid of drawing too. His story is heart wrenching just to warn you but it really puts your life into perspective when you complain about what you want to watch on tv or what you want for tea please remember this little boy who has
Ruth meet Ruth!!Ruth meet Ruth!!Ruth meet Ruth!!

I found a little girl called Ruth - shes so funny but such a drama queen....funny that!!
lost everything.

His name is Abdoussalam, he is 13 years old and is from Sudan in Eastern Africa. He saw his father shot by local police and watched his sisters and mother die when they burnt down his village. He travelled through Chad, Cameroon, Togo, to name a few, until he arrived in Ghana and was taken to Osu Childrens Home. He speaks French, Arabic and a little English.

I was completely unprepared for the maturity at which he related his story to me. He drew pictures of his father dying and his house burning down without shedding a single tear. Its hard to put into words the sadness I felt for him and to top it off he told me it was his 13th birthday - i asked permission from the housemaster to take him to the nearest cafe for a sprite to celebrate and to find out more about him....He declared to me that he wants to move to Manchester and play from Manchester United and in a couple of years wants to marry me!!! Its amazing that someone so young has been through so much and can still be positive about the future.

As
His DrawingHis DrawingHis Drawing

It might be a bit difficult to see but this is the drawing he did for me to explain his story.
the day came to an end he spotted the wooden bracelet I had on my wrist and told me to wait until he came back from his room as he had something for me. He came back with a wooden necklace handmade from his village as a present for me.

It's days like this that I dont mind being away from home because I know that I've helped someone and impacted on their life. After everything he has been through he still manages to smile which shows how brave he is and makes others laugh..including me when he got me up dancing whilst he sang an old arabic folk song.

Advertisement



15th February 2008

hey
hey well have read them all now so have caught up lol!! it sounds like you are very busy and having a fantastic time which is all good. The story about the little boy is very sad but as you said makes you think about everything alot more and the necklace how sweet was he!!! i am glad to hear it is going well and i look forward to reading more about your journeys take care xxx
15th February 2008

What an experience Ruthie, all the children must love you to bits and you are right by saying you are having a massive impact on other, less advantaged kids. What a life-changing experience. We're all proud Missing you and glad you are settling in. Take care Howardx Granny sends lots of love and thinks you are absolutely wonderful xxx
15th February 2008

Abdousaalem
Ruth what an experience you are having ,other people's lives are unimaginable .What is going to happen to him next will he be able to stay at Osu or is he goijg to go back to Sudan? As you say it puts everything else into perspective.Keep the writing and reminiscing going as it means othrs can share with you the experience you are having, Have you lost some weight?!! Love Mum and dadxxxxxxxxxxx
18th February 2008

Wow!
Hi Ruth, this is an amazing story. Well done! I am full of admiration for you. Keep up the good work.
19th February 2008

Wow!
What a story Ruth. You are experiencing that part of our society that most people only read about in the papers. We are so proud of you and of what you have set yourself to achieve, I dont think I could have done what you have done when I was your age. Got your letter this morning and will write back soon. GM has been away for two days, retail therapy in Southport. You are always in our thoughts and prayers. GDandGMxxxxxxxxx
26th March 2008

Hello best babysitter
Lovely to hear about your adventures, missing you a lot! Chloe says keep having a good time and Matty is wondering if you can remember how to make popcorn (without the smoke?!). Enjoy the warm weather it has been snowing here over Easter but not enough to sledge. Looking forward to seeing you when you get back xxx

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb