Takordai, beer and beaches!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
May 28th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

TakoradiTakoradiTakoradi

Bit of the city
I'm in Ghana now, in a city called Takoradi. I think it is also called Sekondi as well, but I'm not 100% positive. Anyways it is a lively place and I'm glad to be relaxing! Feeling the sand between my toes and cold beer. Mmmm cold frosty beers on a beach with a view. Life is good!

I haven't been here too long, so I have yet to explore the city in depth. I'm still *technically* working, but the boat I'm on is tied up at the port. I don't need to sleep much and I want to spend as much time possible being completely lazy and enjoying the beaches and sites. The people I have met are very helpful and even bouncy! Maybe it is because all I want to do is dance and have fun and I just brighten up all the bar regulars? Hah! It is nighttime as I write this at some bar/cafe/internet hut thingy, and I'll be up till the morning. I don't want to disrupt my night shift routine I'm on 😉 I imagine I'll stay up all day tommorrow (today?) to do some exploring! And maybe buy some souvenirs!

I thought is
TakoradiTakoradiTakoradi

More of the city
was hot offshore when I was working, but here on dry land I'm just melting. Damn winterblood running through my veins! Having long hair doesn't help either, but that is nothing a quick head-dunk in the waters can't fix!

In case you, my loyal readers, havent guessed already, I'm soooo glad to be not working and to finally be enjoying West Africa properly. Something about 12 hour shifts everyday kinda sucks the life out of you. Now I have beer and sand, so life is almost complete. (i just need to win the lottery or something). I'm dreading heading back out for another few weeks, but I have more exploring to look forward too! Hopefully I can head over to Cape Coast and the Kakum National Park soon.

In all my travels so far, I can honestly say the sunrises and sunsets out here are some of the best ever. Once I climb Kilimanjaro or head to Japan maybe I will be treated to some better views 😊

Ok ok ok, I should be going now. My super pineapple rum umbrella drink is almost empty, and I see a pretty looking local eyeing me, so I may
TakoradiTakoradiTakoradi

So many people around!
have to go ask her to dance.

I'll *try* to update this more, but you know, I'm kinda lazy.

Taataa adventure seekers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

TakoradiTakoradi
Takoradi

People going about their business
I love palm treesI love palm trees
I love palm trees

Outside of the port in Takoradi
Outskirts of TakoradiOutskirts of Takoradi
Outskirts of Takoradi

Roadside picture from the cab
Outskirts of TakoradiOutskirts of Takoradi
Outskirts of Takoradi

Another pic from the cab
Outside the portOutside the port
Outside the port

Vehicle graveyard
Outskirts of TakoradiOutskirts of Takoradi
Outskirts of Takoradi

Another picture from the cab
AwesomeAwesome
Awesome

View to mainland Ghana
ApartmentsApartments
Apartments

This was just *there* in the forest
Shoreline to portShoreline to port
Shoreline to port

On the way into port Takoradi
Shoreline to portShoreline to port
Shoreline to port

On the way into port Takoradi. Nice backyard eh?
GuardsGuards
Guards

Some heavily armed guys who were nice
Takoradi beachTakoradi beach
Takoradi beach

Ahhh beautiful! Where I'm at now!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb