Luxor


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Luxor
March 28th 2011
Published: April 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Luxor Luxor Luxor

Luxor Temple and our favourite eatery while in Luxor!
And on to Luxor...which I ımmedıately prefer over Aswan and Cairo. I think because it's a raw poor area once your off the main streets and for some reason I like places like that. Today's dose of sight-seeing was Valley of the Kings and Valley of the Workers. Valley of the Kings is my favourite "ancient site" so far. All are obviously amazing to see, but the tombs here are very colourful and there's lots of them. I feel sorry for all these Pharohs though - all that effort that went ınto building theır tombs and now they're dug up and shipped out to museums with all theır treasure on dısplay for tourısts to look at! My head is full of Egyptian gods and kings and I'm wondering which Pharoh was the one who put Joseph in charge of Egypt and which one had Moses pestering him to let God's people go! Went to Sunshine Children's village today - a well-resourced orphanage with well-cared for children - not what I was expecting. Nice to see something else away from all the tourıst stuff and got to play with lots of cute babies!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Karnak Karnak
Karnak

The oldest "swimming pool" in the world!
7th Heaven Hotel7th Heaven Hotel
7th Heaven Hotel

Not a suitable name for this hotel!


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb