Cared For


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Middle Egypt » Asyut
July 16th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I experienced what it is to be cared for by others when you are sick. I’ll spare you all the details, but let you know that I had a mild case of heat stroke for which I was finally treated last night with IV’s to restore my fluids. Rest assured that I am feeling infinitely better today.

As I waited yesterday for what I thought was a case of the flu to pass, I was attended to, waited on and cared for like a most beloved guest. Hala checked on me every 15 minutes to make sure there was nothing that I needed. Oma felt my skin and held my hand, just like a worried mother. Kadry insisted throughout the day that a doctor should be called. Finally around 7:15 when I was not feeling any better, the doctor made a house call and a nurse came to administer the IV.

As I received the IV in our room, I was surrounded by nearly the entire Habib family who came to keep me company, tell me stories and help to pass the time. They fed me fruit, brought me fresh mango juice and anticipated my every need.

Each and every day I experience such great love and affection in this place that I feel like I am at home even though I am far away from you. Al Hamdu Lillah!


Advertisement



19th July 2008

Hope you are feeling better and what a blessing to have such caring people surround you.
19th July 2008

Hospitality
Amy, I continue to read your posts and am inspired by what you are doing and who you are becoming! I thought of you when I read this quote from "Radical Hospitality" 'When I let a stranger into my heart, I let a new possibility approach me. When I reach past my own ideas, I begin to stretch myself open to the world, and this opening of my heart could change everything." Praise be to God!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb