A Great Day!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Middle Egypt » Asyut
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It will come as no surprise to any of you that every day in Egypt is a good day for me - usually a great day. Yesterday was no exception.

What made yesterday a great day was not a special excursion in the morning or lunch with the bishop. What made yesterday a great day was the ordinariness of the day. In the afternoon Kadry’s mom and sisters taught me how to make tagglia - and amazing tomato and onion sauce that we’ve had with fish and last night had with dove - and how to make Egyptian rice. I now know that secret to Om Emad’s cooking is a liberal use of butter. I had suspected this all along, but now I’ve seen the evidence!

The other highlight was an early birthday party that Kadry’s family through for me on the roof last night complete with cake, candles and Egyptian champagne. I knew they were up to something throughout the day because there was a lot of movement happening in the house, but when I finally went up on the roof everyone was gathered around and waiting for me. It was a gift!

As we sat on the roof talking and laughing, Kadry’s mom invited us to stay forever. You all can guess my response - “don’t tempt me!” I told them that my new favorite place in Egypt is no longer a rooftop in Cairo, but a rooftop in Upper Egypt with our family.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

My New CrossMy New Cross
My New Cross

Hala, Nagat, Oma Emad and Amy compare Coptic crosses.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb