Life In Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Middle Egypt » Asyut
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Contrary to what you might think, life in Egypt, like life in many places, is not all that exciting. Day in and day out, life is often just the same routine over and over. We were reminded of this on Wednesday night when we spent our last night in Amshoul with the Habib family on the roof. As we talked to Hala, Nagat and Osama, (Kadry’s twin sisters and his twin brother) we got a new sense that life in a village in Upper Egypt is the same day after day after day. It’s what makes young men willing to take jobs in far away cities and it’s what makes young woman eager to marry to be exposed to something new. When something or someone new comes to alter this routine it can make a world of difference. Kadry’s family gave us a sense that our presence had made a difference to them. On our last night, Kadry’s mom was sad that she would have no more laundry to wash by hand for us, no one to teach how to cook anything new, no one to say good morning to. Hala has asked if I could come again at Christmas for
ShoesShoesShoes

These are the shoes of all the people caring for me as I had my IV administered
her wedding - insha’allah! As we prepared to leave on Thursday, Omi wept as she prepared dried spinach for us to take home and make molohaya for ourselves.

Many of you have heard me speak about my experiences in Egypt last year - which were for me life changing in many, many ways. You have also followed my journey this year and have read as I have described the routines that have made up my life here and some of the experiences that have marked my time. I knew that when I came back to Egypt this summer I would have a very different experience than last year. Last year I was coming to a new place and I was coming as a stranger and as a tourist. I was coming to the place I had always dreamed of visiting.

This year I returned to a familiar place and I returned to students and friends who I have come to love. I returned to a familiar place where I wouldn’t be focused on seeing the sights, but on living and working and being. As I begin to reflect on my time in Egypt this year what I begin
On the Front StoopOn the Front StoopOn the Front Stoop

Kadry, Me, Mom, Dad, Uncle
to realize is that my experience this summer has been about transitioning from the excitement of something new and different to the routine of my daily life in Egypt. What I have found as I make the transition to this routine is that some days are exciting and interesting and some days are frustrating and mundane. Life in Egypt for me is like life in Egypt for most Egyptians.

What I have loved about my time this summer is the realization that I have begun to create a life in Egypt. I have a home there. I have a family there. I have friends and colleagues and students there. I even have a phone there waiting for me when I return. Last summer I had the sense that my time in Egypt had given me a new life and had been a rebirthing experience of sorts. I remember feeling last year like I was alive in cells that I didn’t know I had. This year I sense that the new life I found last year has begun to take root and become planted firmly both in me and in the soil of the place that I love. I cannot return soon enough. But as I come home this year, I bring this place home with me. It is in me body and soul. Al Hamdu Lillah!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb