Sun, Sea and Sand....


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Mediterranean » Alexandria
November 1st 2007
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! I thought I'd write again as I fancied an hour of sitting in a room with air con! Since writing last, I left hectic Cairo (biggest city in Africa - 18 million) and headed to Alexandria (2nd biggest city in Egypt)! And it started to feel like a holiday with the sea on my doorstep. I had a lovely walk along the coastline on my first day - and I bumped into a Sir Alan Sugar lookalike, you turned out to be my free tour guide for the day (like Jeff from the Cook Island). It was really good as it meant I could go to all these untouris places, like into mosques in the poorer parts, without feeling uncomfortable (see picture). We then walked to the fort (see picture) and then right to the other end of the harbour to the old Kings Palace which is now where the President lives (see picture). I felt really bad the whole day as he wouldnt let me pay for anything (food/entrance fees/buses) so i demanded to pay for food in evening - which came to a whopping, wait for it, 1.50 for two of us. We had a wole chicken each, lots of rice, bread etc.... So that was a great day.

I decided to change hotel the next day to somewhere cheaper and I was successful. Not only am I only paying 3 pounds now (2 double beds and single) I have an amazing balcony and sea view. I then went to the Roman ampitheatre but instead of paying to go in, I just walked around the whole site and stuck my camera through the railings for free! And I then went to the biggest roman burial site in Egypt, and despite everyone saying it was soo far to walk, I walked there in a good 20/30 minutes!?!. But they wouldnt let me take pictures so I decided to not go in - but I can sort of still said I techinically went there...I also saw a Roman pillar for free as it towered above the railings. Haha. I got the tram on the way back for fun and it was so slow. It was much faster walking. But i guess you cant complain for 2.5 pence. I the afternoon I found my first supermarket!! Don't get too excited though..it was rubbish. It only sold big pots of oil and jam. Surely if you are going to sell big pots of jam..sell big loaves of bread!!! Also to top that off..there was a lot of poo on the floor and therefore a lot of flies. But nonetheless I bought 2 toilet rolls (as i just finished using my heathrow stash) for 10p.

Yesterday I went to the National Museum and it was really good. Much better than the one in Cairo. There were labels and explanations and air con! I then bumped into Alan Sugar again and we ate dinner. Despite given the option of brains, I went for this beef dish which was really nice. We then went to the mosque we went to before and I ended up playng football with the local kids for a while. I was pretty bad, but i did scoare a few times! I then decided to celebrate Halloween and dress up. Do you like the picture? I feel like it links well with Egypt too!All in all, so far so good despite having inherrited the useless genes from Dad. Its quite hard work doing all the chores alone, when normally I would make Bob do them all. Carrying the day bag is pretty horrible. But suprisingly enough my map reading skills aren't too bad!!It is very hot! And so its hard work being modestly dressed. I havent worn anything shorter than full length sleeves yet.

Tommrow Im going to Port Said and then back to Cairo where Im either going straight to Luxor or to Luxor via the desert. I would like peoples input here...Bob what do you think? Its a long, perhaps pointless journey via the desert if windows are dirty so cant take pictures!?!?!? You could google Dakhla Oasis if you get bored. That would be helpful. Any picture requests?Ill write again soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



1st November 2007

Hiya
Im glad you decided to blog! been entertaining reading your blogs on my lunch breaks (although today I was reading it at home as I am ill with cold..as a result of the aircon at work so be careful!) Love the pictures. Look at you thinking ahead and bringing loo roll all the way from UK... and free loo roll at that! Whats even better is that you've managed to get double usage out of your loo roll to make your mummy costume which is fab btw. Even better than the one that guy had on in Universal Studios! hmm picture requests....a camel or an oasis if you go out in to the desert.
1st November 2007

Sugar Daddy
What's all this then - going around with old millionaire business men look-a-likes! Are you sure you can afford this holiday? If you run short of cash just let me know and ...................I'll send you a sympathetic email. Dad
1st November 2007

the (real) mummy returns
Just to say another great blog and some fabulous pictures. The last one made me laugh so much it brought tears to my eyes - brilliant!! love mumsy xxxx
2nd November 2007

I love to go a wandering ...
Can we have a photo of a camel? Be careful they spit!! Ken and Pat's Halloween costumes are on the other blogg. Scary!!!
2nd November 2007

Fabio
Hey lil bob- looks like your having a great time. Its strange though to be sat here writing a comment rather than receiving them. I think you should go through the desert- nothing to loose but a few hours and you have plenty of time right? If its good you could do it twice (there and back) and if not so good you could go on a different route back. Im loving the costume-its genius!!! Im also glad u found a jeff-there always fun for a few days. Was he english/american? Got much of a tan yet? Plus I was thinking you could do a fortnightly question- or a weekly question- they are always fun (and im guessing i might win a few). email you soon bob xxxx miss you xxxx
4th November 2007

No prizes
I wouldn't have a quiz - the prizes don't exist!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb