End days in egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt
February 27th 2010
Published: February 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

From Aswan to Cairo on another overnight train...not as pleasant as on the first ride but manageable. A terrible meal this time and the train rattled and shook a LOT...too much to sleep well . Oh Well...

Back in Cairo a brief revisit of the Citidal of Saladin and it was even more remarable this time. The domes are truly fantastic on the inside ... the photos are good and I look forward to showing them when I return. When I was there the first time I realize that I was quite zonked by the jet lag and it was a bit of a blurred memory so to return was fine .

Off we went to the Khan a Kalily Market and Islamic Cairo . I don't know why , but Ramone was really reluctant about this area . I think it may be because he is a Copic Christian of firm resolve . Whatever . The group went on to the hotel after lunch and I stayed to soak up a bit more of Cairo . Travelling with the group has been good but you know me I do enjoy my meandering on my own . I also need to sit in sidewalk cafes journelling and watching people . There isn't enough time for that on a tour unless you take the time...and I do ...and it is acceptable ......I think!

That night we were treated to quite a spectacular thunder and lightening storm ... something that is very rare in Cairo . It rained a GREAT deal flooding roads and even parts of the Metro . The internet and cell phone connections were down for @ 4 hours . It had real impact .We had to change our driving route out of town the next morning because of flooded roads .

Yesterday we were at Mount Sinai and I attemped to climb to the top ... right ... I ended up going as far as I could on a camel (I am getting the hang of riding those beasts) and then tried the 736 steps to the summit...naaah... I surrenderd at 100meters from the top deciding it wasn't worth it . The steps are steep and going down was scary enough in the light I didn't want to do it after sunset . Besides My barreries quit on the camera as did the second set with me . I took it as and omen .

This Morning we spent in St Katherine's monastery and it is a place I wish we had had more time in in . The history and the ambiance were pleasing to me . Oh well , I have decided I will suggest to GAP that 24 hours there might become an optional excursion as there is a hotel/respite available.

And now we are at a resort on the Red Sea soaking up the sunshine and enjoying a space with NO sound of cars or mass population . It is a bit of paradise . Tonight I plan on eating fresh fish grilled outdoors and possibly having a beer or two ...Life is Good.

Tomorrow we take a ferry to Jordon and the next stage of the journey .

Hope all is well . Keep in touch and do add your name at the end of your comments so I know who is reading .Take care.

Advertisement



27th February 2010

hi from vermont
Pamela, Thanks for sharing your journey with us. I am enjoying your travel log and pictures. Take care and as it keeps snowing here, I am liking this journey to Cairo and now Jordon! Judith
27th February 2010

Wish I were there ...
Wish I were there but am vicariously enjoying your adventurous travels sitting here at my computer -- your photos are an added bonus -- look to seeing them all when your return.
27th February 2010

Disappointed that you didn't jog up the Mount - oh well!!!
27th February 2010

Hi Pam, I am really enjoying the blog. Great pictures too! Jan
27th February 2010

Sounds like a great journey. Glad all is going well and that you are truly enjoying your trip...was there ever any doubt about that. Too bad you don't do snokeling. I hear it is the best in the world. Looking forward to your next update. Take care. Lynn
28th February 2010

great pics
Thanks for the updates Pam. Really enjoyed the pictures. Saskatoon Lou
28th February 2010

Jordan
Really enjoy it...the food, the people...joy!
1st March 2010

Sounds like a great adventure. Nothing like a cold beer on a hot day. ENJOY! - Tim, Krista and Liam
1st March 2010

Yes, life is good. I was getting worried that I hadn't heard from you. But here you are. So glad that all is well, and you are enjoying the adventure. Love the pics.
1st March 2010

Own the Podium
How can you Own the Podium if you quit 100 meters from the top? Can't say's I blame you however, I'm sure it is quite the climb. I've heard before that climbing down is the harder of the two parts. I laughed at your mention of the electrical storm, because it brought back memories of the two Egyptian engineering students I used to meet up with some days as we walked across the bridge to the University of Saskatchewan. One morning, fresh and clear after a wonderful prairie thunder storm, they told me they had never seen anything remotely like the lightening, nor heard thunder before, and spent most of the night under their beds! I can imagine if you've never seen nor heard a storm before, it would be very upsetting. All that said, is this occurance a sign of changing climate in Egypt? Cheers - F
3rd March 2010

You lucky devil! The GAP tour sounds great! Remember - the best trips have a few rough spots so there are good stories to tell when you get home.
3rd March 2010

Good Life
Glad life is good. grilled fish and beer sound good.amazing sights you have seen. Great pics.As you can tell..Muriel forwarded all the blogs I had missed. you seem to have fixed the transmission of the latest ones to me. Mo
3rd March 2010

The Beauty
Oh, the beauty of it all. I was admiring the hoar frost and the sunshine- quite the contrast to your view. Love the updates and the photos were beautiful. Tim, Krista and Liam

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb