Don't Run! I'm Not Naked!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
November 16th 2012
Published: November 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We had just returned from the rooftop pool. I threw my robe to the floor and collapsed onto the billowy white bed. I lie there in my shiny green bikini feeling so refreshed and comfortable. Then there was a pounding on the door. Having learned a thing or two about Middle Eastern modesty, I had the fleeting thought that I should probably cover myself before answering the door. Jeremy was too quick though. He swung the door open and was greeted by a 40-something, shy, Muslim hotel employee who announced, “Good evening, sir. I am here for your turn down service.”

The man stepped inside, saw me lying scantily clad in bed and panicked.

He put his eyes to the floor and said, “Oh sir, I am sorry. I am so sorry. I leave you.”

“No! Its fine!” Jeremy reassured. “Come on in!”

The man seemed to stop breathing, stammered around and turned to make a quick exit from our room.

“Don't leave!” I shouted as I sprang from the bed.

The man looked up at me, immediately put his eyes back to the floor and made a break for the door.

I ran after him. “Don't run away!” I ordered. “Its ok! I'm NOT naked!”

“Andrea! Stop chasing him! You're making it worse!” Jeremy scolded.

Shocked, embarrassed and now completely confused as to why this woman in her bathing suit is chasing him through her room, the man slips through my grasp and out the door.

Jeremy just stares at me. “Way to go Andrea. You completely traumatized the poor guy. Who knows what kind of praying that man's gonna have to do now.”

“Oh give me a break,” I told him. “I would assume that working in a hotel with a swimming pool, that I'm not the first woman in a bikini he's seen.”

“True, but probably the first to chase him through her room,” Jeremy lamented with a roll of the eyes. “And so much for our turn down service.”

He was right about that. No one returned to put a mint on our pillow for the rest of our stay.



The next morning I left the hotel dressed appropriately conservative with my white linen pants, long sleeved blouse and head scarf.

Everything I read about visiting Egypt in summer warned of the extreme heat. I told myself I would endure, enjoy and not complain. Its a dry heat after all. Is it really so bad? In a word. YES. It becomes clear as to why they're always fighting in the Middle East. That kind of heat would make anyone volatile.

Roaming through the dusty Egyptian Museum in Cairo on my second day in town, curiosity once again got the best of me. I was enjoying observing the museum's other patrons as much as the priceless antiquities. Cairo, being in the state of civil unrest as the media portrays, was pretty barren of other tourists. We had the museum to ourselves save for locals and a small German group.

I started to pay more attention to what the Egyptian women were donning. They were beautiful, colorful and really altogether lovely in their layers of vibrant modesty and heavily made-up eyes. You really can't help but notice the striking eyes. What you're NOT noticing are bust-lines and waistlines, stretch marks, cellulite or muffin-tops and I thought to myself, “what a relief this would be...

But there was another group of women I couldn't help but stare at. The ones in all black. All black polyester, head to toe. Many even wore gloves. Only little slits cut out of dark fabric with the whites of their eyes showing. I'd see them cautiously slip a cup of tea under their veil and drink all the while careful not to reveal their lips.

This made me curious. All these women were of the same religion. They all had their hair covered and every bit of skin concealed. So why did some women find it necessary to wear all black, not even showing their face or fingers? I found an unoccupied guide in the museum and put the question to him. His response? “Well, the ones in all black are just...very Muslim,” he said. That answer actually made sense to me. Completely.

I approached a woman dressed like this at the Cairo Museum. She was standing in a dimly lit room looking at the treasures recovered from King Tut's tomb while bouncing a lively two year old on her hip.

She was so shy and seemed unsure as to whether she should talk to me. I told her her daughter was beautiful and reached out and touched her curly black hair. She immediately warmed to me. Her English was limited but I was able to discern she was from Saudi Arabia. I asked her who was allowed to see her face. She said women could see her face but the only men allowed to were her husband, father and brothers. I asked her if she minded this. She said no. Then her husband walked over. She stopped talking.

“I can see where your daughter got all her curly black hair!” I said to him.

He smiled broadly, ran his fingers through his dark waves and introduced himself.

Feeling a bit brave I asked him about his wife having her face covered. “Its so no man look at her,” he tells me. “Her face is only for me.”

“Well how in the world do you recognize anybody?” I asked.

He just laughed. “I am the only man that can see her face and her face is the only one I see.”

“So, can I see your wife's face?” I ask cautiously.

The wife looks at her husband hopefully. He grins down at her. “Yes, you can show her your face.”

She lifts her veil and smiles from ear to ear with downcast eyes.

I grabbed her hand, “Girl! Look at me! You are absolutely beautiful!” This was more compliment than she was expecting I think. Jeremy finally found me and as he approached, she immediately let the veil drop once again over her face.

I introduced Jeremy to the family I had just befriended, gave the wife a big hug which she was entirely unprepared for, and said goodbye.

As we parted ways, I found myself face to face with the German tour group. While dressing appropriately for the climate, the German groups lack of modesty was certainly not appropriate for the culture. I think they had confused Cairo with Cancun. Traipsing through the museum in shorts, halter tops and mini skirts, I felt embarrassed. I wanted to tell the Egyptians, “I promise, not all Westerners are so insensitive to your values...”

I wonder what the Muslim women think when they see us Westerners brazenly baring so much flesh. What do the women who are very Muslim think? I can only guess. Do they pity us? Do they pray for us? Do they sneer at us?

Or maybe, just maybe, they chuckle a little.

Who knows, it could be that under all those long black abayas are shiny green bikinis.

Advertisement



19th November 2012

What the eye doesn't see...
It is a shame you didn't have to time to visit hammam whilst in Egypt, that way you could have discovered what was really under those long black abayas... I have it on good authority that shiny green bikinis are definitely at the conservative end of the spectrum;-)
19th November 2012

Hmmmmm
Now you've got me curious.....
19th November 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable blog
"It becomes clear as to why they're always fighting in the Middle East. That kind of heat would make anyone volatile" - and I always thought it was about power - silly me ;-) I have little tolerance for tourists from other countries not dressing appropriately for the culture when in public. I've seen this in many Middle East countries and it is despairing that some people don't even possess the simplest notions of respect for the countries they travel through. As for what is underneath the abayas, I have seen it reported that lingerie sales have always been strong in the Middle East, thus confirming Jason's good authority.
19th November 2012

Oh, its definitely the heat.
Glad you enjoyed reading. I agree. PUT SOME CLOTHES ON!
19th November 2012

the hotel room scene made me laugh =P
19th November 2012

Bravo!
Ive always wanted to ask a woman to show me her face - what a brave thing to do, could have gone either way...well done :) lovely blog.
19th November 2012

Well....
We had spent some time talking and her husband was friendly AND I'm a woman so I had all those things in my favor when I asked. I think that makes a difference.
19th November 2012

You chasing after the guy...
...gave me a great laugh. Hahaha. Firstly, love the boldness you have in taking small risks like asking to see her face. Your friendliness, curiosity, and honesty are admirable. “Girl! Look at me! You are absolutely beautiful!” No one's probably ever said that to her, at least not like that. I imagine it's a moment neither one of you will soon forget. Thanks for another great story! ... I bet you're a blast to travel with.
19th November 2012

Personally....
I think it would be nerve-wrecking to travel with me. I guess Jeremy's just gotten used to my wondering off...
19th November 2012

Good take
As usual I enjoyed reading your take on Cairo and the little black dress!
19th November 2012

Shiny green bikinis...
given that green is the color of Islam, perhaps the room attendant felt that wearing a bikini in that color was offensive to his religion...just like it used to be offensive to wear anything with an American flag pattern. Just a thought you may want to check on. Anyway, I loved your interaction with the Saudi woman.
19th November 2012

Well shucks.
And here I bought green just because I liked the color. That was all the thought I put into that purchase.
19th November 2012

Mathew, She is definitely a blast to travel with... and after a decade or so you can even see the adventures prior to them unfolding before your eyes... I really believe that someday one of the people we meet in our travels will find her on travel blog and tell a story about her!
21st November 2012

Covering up...
Nah, I think they should hang it all out and get massive sunburn in sensitive places - that would teach them the hard way and also please me immensely! I got taken to task (via a private message) for mentioning in my last blog that I was unimpressed with tourists who show too much flesh in conservative societies. It made me realise that contrary to my thinking that it was done through unawareness or pure self-absorption, apparently some women do it on purpose – a sort of statement of old school feminism...
21st November 2012

Great comment!
I'd like to think the men/women who do it on purpose are the minority. Now, maybe if I lived there and I was Muslim and decided to bare all, that would be making a feminist statement. But as a Westerner I do not feel that its my place to do so. Wearing a mini-skirt in Cairo isn't going to change anything socially. It will just bring you immense harassment and put a bad taste in their mouth for us. But what do I know?
22nd November 2012

Its a very good read
its a very good read. your writing skill is very much entertaining also. like the way you have mentioned different incidents and the way you have shown respect to other religion. thank you again
12th December 2012

It's so hot I'm gonna walk around naked!
Some interesting encounters there. As a man, I wouldn't dare asking a woman dressed in that fashion if I could see her face for a moment. Her husband would probably have to kill me and her afterwards ;) But yes, it is immensely frustrating to see Westerners blatantly disrespect the most basic local sensitivities in more conservative foreign countries. And doing it on purpose to advance feminism? Really? That's just the type of patronising behaviour that usually results in the opposite effect. Local men will have it reconfirmed that Western women must all be sluts, and they'd most likely tell their wives and sisters not to walk around like that.
24th December 2012

Learning from Andrea
Andrea, Your curiosity and gentle approach can get you in touch with other people quickly, who would not otherwise respond. Good Work! Keep traveling, sharing and blogging. Edwina
27th March 2013

Your chasing the hotel employee was really funny :) About the second part of the story: Do you think that all these black covered women are merely an innocent cultural feature? She was afraid even to talk to you freely, she looked at her husband for approval, stopped talking with you immediately when he came. She can’t take her own steps in anything, can’t even decide with whom to speak. What her everyday life with her husband can be like? Who knows, maybe there was not a green bikini under her abaya, but blue bruises?

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb