Today I am Cleopatra


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
June 20th 2009
Published: June 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

001001001

Catherine on the jungle gym at Cairo American College
Ok, maybe not all day but I was Cleopatra (says Titi) the last couple of hours at least. I had my last visit with Titi which means my last Egyptian manicure, pedicure, and other things we can't mention...riiiiipppp! Anna Misreya delwati! Mom, Corinne, Jennifer...Titi says "hi and I love you"

Catherine and I made one last pilgrimage to CAC. I read a few pages in my book and Catherine played and took some photos of the campus. Notice the red flame trees have lost all their blooms.

Tracy and I spent the rest of the afternoon playing canasta. We decided to have Bukkara one more time so everyone piled into the car, except for Trevor who was with MG. The food was delicious as well as the company. We also got a lesson in how Egyptian laws are only for certain people, right Zach? A quick run in to Kalifa for more ice cream, roz bil leban (rice pudding), and Umm Ali (Egyptian bread pudding). I got a few smirks and giggles from the men working there...they were not expecting me to order in almost perfect Arabic. I did get stumped when he asked if we will eat it now or later. Not too good at future perfect tense.

Oh, I did a little packing too. I am setting a record for leaving Egypt with only 5 bags...thank God for that sea container!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

007007
007

Here I am reading my book. Notice the Middle School campus in the background
009009
009

Construction
011011
011

These colorful pieces of art were done by the Middle School art students to decorate the construction zone barrier.
022022
022

Me, Jackson, Zachary, Paul, Tracy, Caroline, and Catherine outside Bukhara Indian restaurant.
024024
024

banana cart
025025
025

We LOVE Kalifa. I'm showing too much skin for this joint!


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb