In Cairo


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

From Rush - I tried to get some sleep on the plane and I got about an hours worth of sleep. I didn't sleep on the second plane we were on. I watched a movie and played video games. Our hotel is right next to The Nile and I mean RIGHT next to The Nile. Our room is small but has a great view. I also heard my first calling to prayer. Thats it. Bye

From Matt - We are on an arabic keyboard so if you get any strange letters you'll know why. It is Sunday night and we left London on the last train to Paris sat. nite. Thru the Chunnel - How cool is that! It is the least scenic way to get to the continent from England but in a tunnel UNDER the English Channel. We arrived 11:30 in Paris and slept for about 3 1/2 hours before catching the flight to Cairo thru Zurich. We are about to collapse, but afraid to slow down. What a contrast London to Cairo. Almost hard to imagine they are on the same planet. Rush noted that there sure was a lot of construction going on in this place. We are trying to learn a little Arabic and we managed two whole words today! We can say thank you and yes! At this rate we will have a vocabulary of 8 - -10 words when we leave! Tonite is a sleep catch up nite and I'm sure we will sleep in tomorrow. The plan now is to just see the Egyptian Museum which is about 100 meters from the hotel. That will be enough. We are really enjoying everyones comments and are glad to know that we are in your thoughts.

No photos tonite but we should have some great ones after the museum. (Caleb - In London its 1 pound to squash a penny!)

From Vance - i think the strangest thing is that the sun goes down at 8 pm and comes up at 4 am.....i wake up and the sun is out and it is 5 in the morning....knew that was the case intellectually, but it is stange to experience......already went thru an attempted hustle form the egyptians, but matt saw thru it and cut a decent deal on one of our tours.....rush is doing great and makes me proud...still washing his stinking socks (i thinks he gets that from his mamas people)....thanks for keeping up...love ya, mean it

Advertisement



6th July 2008

Cairo
My Dad was in Egypt with occasional trips to Cairo from 1939-1944, I have some photographs that he took there, remind me to show them to you on your return. Dysentry (sp?) seemed to figure prominently in his stories about the place - be careful! Mike.
7th July 2008

Back to my computer!
I've been reading your blogs from various places, but glad to be back at my own computer. Love every word...every picture. Thank you for keeping us informed. Sounds like things are going well! I hear that the ACUer's are in Tana now....but not all their luggage. I've packed your suits, but who knows if the suitcase will get there!! I guess we will just have to hope for the best. Enjoy Cairo! See you Friday night! Love.......Mom/Nana
7th July 2008

Ciro sounds great. Be careful.
What a trip so far. Glad ya'll are slowing down. Mother Nature will do it for you, huh? Can't wait 'till the next blog. Love ya'll .
7th July 2008

Keep up the posts
You boys are keeping my mental movie alive. Hang in there! You should be well-rested by Thanksgiving. Rush, keep your dad and uncle in line. You are the least of the family worries (just wait till your mom and Karl arrive!) Sis :)

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb