the first days


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
June 3rd 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

the first days of Cairo where amazing, though I'm sure I would not feel this way had I not come a few days early to stay with Kellie (come back). I was supremely lucky in the fact that Kellie and her friends showed me around and helped me get a grasp on certain aspect that are FAR different then home.

Upon arrival at the Cairo Airport I was terrified that after NOT taking my study abroad advisor's advice to get my visa before I left for Cairo, that I was not going to be able to get into the country. I was pleasantly surprised at how easily I obtained my currency, visa, and how swiftly I made it through customs. With a flash of my passport I was off. Kellie was waiting with a smiling face on the other side, Shukran! and we pushed our way onto the shuttle bus to the parking lot where a taxi was waiting to take us to her apartment. After a 20 minute traffic dodging ride into the city we were at the apartment. Kellie and I promptly sat on the couch where we stayed for the majority of the mornings I was there. Lounging and reading until the afternoon, it was very nice to have that relaxing time. The first night the girls took me to a local restaurant to indulge in some mezza (appetizers) fuul and tamaya (local dishes). The lights and the crowds where mesmerizing as we wound our way through Cairo to a local 'watering hole' Haraya, where they server tea, coffee, beer and some sort of beans. Apparently it used to be the spot for intellectuals, now it is the hang out for foreigners - many AUC students- and locals. My first night was the perfect introduction to Cairo.

In the following days we walked around Kellie's neighborhood, which was very near the AUC campus. When going to campus for the first time I was amazed and pleased with how nice it is. Main campus is composed of a few buildings surrounding a very nice court yard. we stayed on campus for a while as you must go to more than one office to get a simple question- like where am i living- answered. After getting everything figured out we ventured to one of Kellie and her roommates favorite restaurants for lunch.


The first historic site
with in the wallswith in the wallswith in the walls

this is inside the gate of the smaller mosque
that I visited was the Citadel of Salah al-Din. While walking around and taking pictures of the beautiful the mosque I was taken back to my childhood by the sight of a gazebo overlooking the city. When I was 14 my dad took a picture of my brother and I in it, though the girls and I did not take the guards offer to take a picture for us as he would want baksheesh (tip) for it.

the days following were pretty normal, walking around and meeting new people. Two days ago my roommate Kelly (a different Kelly then the first) and I moved into our dorm...the only place that AUC students can live during the summer. We were surprised with a room larger then those at state, the down side was the sight of the community bathroom; it leaves a bit to be desired. The area where we live is fairly quiet by Cairo standards, it's an island in the Nile called Zamelak. Many of the streets are lined with trees as well as cars, cats and people. The island is dotted with beautiful embassies and cute shops just wait for my tourist money. We spent the first
CairoCairoCairo

Ahlan yaa Cairo
two days here wondering the island in search of emergency clothing for Kelly since her luggage did not arrive with her. But today after I had a stern talking to with Ahmed my new airport friend we were assured that the bags would arrive by 6:30, which surprisingly they did.

My biggest success thus far was getting a cab and telling the driver where I live in Arabic and then later successfully going from my dorm to Kellie's apartment and giving the drive directions in Arabic.

off to wonder some more, ma salamma
Erin



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

pretty scriptpretty script
pretty script

inside the Muhammad Ali mosque


5th June 2008

Noice!
Sounds like a great first few days in Cairo sis, the fam missed you in Charlotte but we knew you were there in spirit. Keep us up to date on everything in Egypt. -Nick
5th June 2008

looks to me like you and kelli could be sisters in that pic love you mommy

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb