Maun Botswana


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-East
March 28th 2008
Published: March 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Maun, Botswana.
It's an interesting town with some smart shops and a vitality about it.
For once the corrugated shacks have been replaced with some nice small huts and

bushman huts. I get the feeling there's a lot of employment here. That gives

people money and that makes them happy, although Botswanans are generally happy

people from waht I've experienced.
I decided to take the road through Botswana - Gobabis, Ghanzi, Maun, Gweta, Nata

and Kasane. It's a long straight road, an endless road and I just count off the

10km markers, which in general take about 33minutes to complete with the constant

headwind that knocks me back. Lately around 3pm it tends to switch sideways.
Still, at least the road is tarred all the way.
The weather has turned hot again and I found 10 litres of water just about

covered me though one day, throught the night and into the next day. So I've just

relying on major towns as reliable water sources and this is where the trailer is

paying off.
It's hard to judge just how much water I need as I'm thirsty most of the time and

will inevitably get dehydrated.
There have been plenty of animals on the road, that's donkeys, goats and cows.
I've also bush camped a few times and the animal noises takes some getting used

to. As long as the tent doesn't get pawed. Bush camping has a special beauty to

it and I can see I'm getting to like it.
According to the tourist info here in Maun, the road is clear of dangerous

animals. I think that's lions except mid Chobe and I won't be going there.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb