elephants in the bush


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

road stoproad stoproad stop

normally sign posted as a tree 1km further on, but the swing bins are emptied all over the place by the animals
Kasane town 6km from the border crosssing into Zambia.
I should be in Livingstone tomorrow.
Northern Botswana has been hard work, yet satisfying when I look at the map.
It also gave me my first 200km ride between towns: nata to panda and because of the closed in bush, the wind was for a change in my favour, or reduced. It did take 11hours.
I've now seen elephants and giraffes in the wild.
The poor road conditions also meant the trailer nuts came loose and a wheel bounced off.
Still, otherwise, the rattle frightens most animals away.

I was warned about the possibility of lions, but soon realised that they kept away from the road.
Open savana with high grass though still made me look ahead and across the pans.
In all, better to cycle Botswana east to west and it should be a cyclists dream considering the wind.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

vialist insect evervialist insect ever
vialist insect ever

it squeaks and comes out in the rain with all its friends
elephant running awayelephant running away
elephant running away

elephant on the road to Kasane


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb