Friday in Belo


Advertisement
South America
September 11th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

View from hotel windowView from hotel windowView from hotel window

Looking south up the ridge of volcano.
Friday

This was a fairly quiet day. After breakfast, we returned to Vivo and got another phone set up for use while we are here. Maria had an extra and all we needed to do was to buy minutes. I also added Skype to my computer and have had success calling back to the US.

We planned to meet Maria for lunch at BH Mall, which is located on the ridge above Belo in an area called Belvedere. It has grown enormously since we left. The mall was a frequent place for us to shop when we lived here. To get there Jackie and I decided to see how far we could walk up the road towards the mall. We made it about a half mile and flagged down a taxi for the remainder. It cost about $6 for the ride. Later when we returned to our hotel, we took a city bus and saved about half the cost.

During lunch we thought about something that always impressed me about Brazilians. They must be the most sanitary people in this hemisphere. They never touch their food. If you are having a hamburger, you use a paper napkin. I
Hotel BreakfastHotel BreakfastHotel Breakfast

We had just too many choices at breakfast. I test every dish and haven't found one that I did not like.
think this habit would provide great benefits in the US. Maybe the swine flu would not be such a big threat if we had better habits.

After having lunch, we took in a movie at the mall. We saw "My Sister's Keeper." It was a real tear-jerker. Don't go if you have daughters.

For dinner, we walked to the Corner Bar adjacent to the Dona Derna. Yes, it too was another favorite. Maria's brother, Augusto, and her husband, Gilberto joined us.

That's it for Friday. Tomorrow is Maria's birthday which we plan to celebrate at their club, Campestre.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

CEMIG GarageCEMIG Garage
CEMIG Garage

This is where I thought it was over for this Yankee.
CEMIGCEMIG
CEMIG

I had an office on 25th floor for almost three years here in Belo.
Jackie at BH MallJackie at BH Mall
Jackie at BH Mall

Another chopp, please.
Typical sight in BrazilTypical sight in Brazil
Typical sight in Brazil

Everyone uses napkins when handling food. No touching your food. Wish we had that habit in the USA.


14th September 2009

great stuff...again!
Keep those blogs coming. I never worked out the ability to connect with Skype. It's on my computer...and everything seems to be working just fine. I'll have to be satisfied with reading...but, not talking to you. xox Patty
14th September 2009

Hey!
I just tried the napkin thing with my breakfast sandwich. It worked pretty well. I'll try to start a trend here in Gainesville! Glad your having fun!!! Love you! jj

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb