Cusco


Advertisement
South America
July 5th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What a whirlwind of a day so far... it's hardly 1:00 and already I've gone through a flurry of goodbyes, flown to Cusco, and been picked up and taken to a host family to stay tonight. The baggage claim is so efficient that it seemed like 20 minutes for us to land, get our baggage, hop in a taxi, and be taken to our house for coca tea (I'm with another volunteer, Laura, which is excellent because I have no idea what I would have done here all day alone...). Feels a bit like whiplash, it was so fast, particularly with the altitude here... you can definitely feel it.

Yesterday was an excellent day... I love the Peruvian people more and more, as I spend more time here. The culture is so incredibly welcoming and people really seem to embrace life to the fullest. I went to Isabel (staff member I've gotten to know) house to transcribe some music from a cassette tape she had (she's loved the music since she was little, but it's in English and the artists aren't listed), so I could look up the lyrics and find the artists. Her whole family was there, and really
Vaca LocaVaca LocaVaca Loca

Steak with tacacho and salsa
amazing... her dad loves music from all over the world, just like Isabel, and siblings far less shy than I would have been at their age (9 and 12 sisters, I think, and 20 and 20-something brothers), plus really friendly dogs and cats... mom's a nurse, as well, and Ilona (another volunteer who came along) and I were just staggered by their hospitality. It was a great afternoon, ended with a visit to Vaca Loca (Crazy Cow), a steak place off the Plaza. To top it off, it's the beginning of celebrations for the anniversary of Puerto Maldonado (4th of July, how convenient!), so there was a parade and a concert with indigenous music and dancers in the Plaza, as well.

So, now the plan is to spend the day here and wait for two new volunteers to arrive, as well, tomorrow, then take a combi to Huyro (pronounced "wee-row"), which takes about 4 hours, apparently (longer by bus). I am loving the weather here... dry air, cool temperature, and sun. Feels like Colorado. Laura and I are going to get lunch, head to a market and pick up some warmer clothes, and explore town- Plaza de Armas and the area around it. Our host mom told us some good spots to visit and I have my guidebook and a map in hand, so this should be fun.

That's all for now! I'm just stalling in the internet cafe, and we'll head out shortly. Beautiful day here in Cusco, and looking forward to tomorrow and the coming week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Streets of San BlasStreets of San Blas
Streets of San Blas

Laura is excited, probably because the street vendor stopped following us. :)


6th July 2009

hi
sounds busy-a bit more your speed,now, perhaps.. have a great week-be fun and safe.probably talk to you next week? love you-dad.ps--send pics
6th July 2009

Hey Laura! I'm getting excited to see you!!!!!!!: xoxo, mel

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb