Venezuela


Advertisement
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Black Market Petrol StationThe Black Market Petrol StationThe Black Market Petrol Station

The queue was 50 cars
I am highly starting to doubt I will ever find an internet quick enough to load my photo´s up however I shall keep attempting, one of these days I might get one or two photo´s up 😉
So we got our bus yesterday from Manaus overnight to Bo Vista in north Brasil. When we were on the bus I realised that I no longer had the form I was given at the airport on arrival. This form is to state how long you can stay in the country and was stamped by immigration. I read in my Lonely Plant book that if you reachthe border without it they deny exit and you have to travel back to a Banco do Brasil and pay a fine of US$75. I was so annoyed when I realised but all I could do was play dumb. We arrived at the boarder to Venezuela at 10am this morning. Went up to immigration and thankfully the guy looked pretty knackered and lazy behind the desk. He asked for my form and I just pretended I didn´t know what he was talking about and it seemed to work. Also there was no charge into Ven as we had previously been told. We found a nice little Pousada for pretty cheap and exchanged our US dollars on the black market. We are trying to find somewhere to book our trip to Angel Falls which is turning out to be a lot more expensive than we had already predicted due to the decline of the exchange on the black market. We have found an agency here which seems to be offering a very good rate so we shall speak again with him tomorrow and see what we can negotiate.
The town we are in seems fairly quiet and relaxed which is a nice change from Manaus and there doesn´t seem to be any trouble at all so not having to watch the back as much is a welcome change.
Tomorrow we head back to Brasil for an hour to get some money to exchange here so we dont run out. I you exchange monmey in the banks here to the local currency you get half of what you get on the black market. Its a very strange way of working but i´m not complaining!!!
Tomorrow we head further north to get closer to Angel Falls and cheaper accomodation, we´ve found a camping sight where we can camp up use the hammocks so that looks like a winner. Will try again to load some photos but highly doubting it!! Ciao


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb