Colonia


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
September 22nd 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

UruguayUruguayUruguay

Adios a Buenos Aires
My first attempt at making it to this place wasn't all that sucessful. I managed to haul my ass out of bed on time to hop onto the subte for the closest station to the BuqueBus port (Puerto Madero). I was so happy with my ability to get out of bed until I realised I'd left my passport sitting in the locker at the hostel and I didn't have time to return to get it and still make the ferry. Bugger.

It wasn't my brightest moment. I forgot that I was in fact heading for another country and as such a passport is one of those things that should be pretty high up on the list.

Instead I booked my tickets for the following day and made a mental note to take my passport. In the end I opted for the cheap (read: cheap and so slow you could probably swim faster) ferry. It was the cheapest option and if you go there and back in the same day it only cost 93 pesos (taxes included). The journey takes 3 hours in total meaning you spend a good 6 hours stuck on a boat. Its pretty comfortable though, and
UruguayUruguayUruguay

The founder of Colonia
there's certainly no need to go first class as the normal standard class is perfectly decent. Saying goodbye to the Buenos Aires port you get a good view of the city and its skyline.

The town itself is a beautiful little place. The only way to see it is by strolling around and taking everything in. There's always a few lazzies however that drive around in little golf buggy-style vehicles. More money than sense.

I spent my first 2 hours there looking for a damn cashpoint that would be kind enough to give me money. None of the ones I tried worked. I don't know why since some had the VISA symbol printed upon them. After enquiring at the tourist office I discovered that Banco Commercial (on the main Avenue... can't remember the name) is the one to go to if you happen to be a gringo. Sure enough it spat some of my money out and I was free to check out everything the town had to offer.

I bought a ticket at the Portugese museum for 25 pesos and with this you can go into pretty much any museum/attraction in the town. The highlight for
UruguayUruguayUruguay

The streets of Colonia
me being the oldest church in Uruguay. I really enjoyed passing the time in this place. Its completely different from all the noise and distractions of Buenos Aires. The streets are narrow and cobbled, and everything seems much more laid back. The service is also better... I was at a resturant and the waiter actually came up to me during my meal to ask if everything was alright! I couldn't quite believe my ears. For that little nicety I made sure to tip him quite well.

Colonia left me with a really good impression of Uruguay in general. Had I had more time, I would have loved to explore more of the country. If its as nice and welcoming as Colonia, its gotta be pretty good. And its also really really cheap!

Colonia del Sacremento... nice place for a day trip. And if for no other reason, going there gets you another couple of stamps in your passport which makes you look just that little bit more travelled! 😉

Hasta Luego


Hee hee! Look at this country! 'You are gay.'

... Homer Simpson.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb