The full Montevideo...


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Punta del Este
January 7th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MontevideoMontevideoMontevideo

The crowded beaches of Montevideo
Well what can I say?? I have stumbled on South Americas best kept secret - Uruguay! What an awesome, cool, laid back country it is (apart from EVERYONE smoking). The capital Montevideo is absolutely lovely and as for the beaches in the east, they are just as good as home. The surf is pumping and the sand goes on forever. The people are so friendly and it is very safe. It really reminds me of having a summer in Australia. I am currently in a place called Punta Del Est which is Montevideo´s answer to the Sorrento of Melbourne and the Palm Beach of Sydney. It is just devine and very busy with Uruguayan holiday makers. I am surprised to see that there´s a lot of money here in Uruguay. Everyone has a smile and it´s a country that seems to just roll with the punches and not bother anyone else. I have also hooked up with some local surfers who are friends of the guys who ran the hostel I stayed in in Montevideo and to say that they are like the guys from the movie Point Break, is an understatement. It´s been pretty funny cruising around town with them especially since they know absolutely everyone so I am loving being the Australian novelty.

At the beach today I felt like a real prude with my boy short bathers on and everyone in skimpy G-strings. I was also the only one facing the wrong way with my towel as it seems that everyone moves with the sun over here rather than face the water so it took me a while to realise that I stood out a mile as a foreigner. I was then quick to change the direction of my body. I feel like I´m on a little holiday within a holiday and it is nice to have the laid back atmosphere here that you don´t get in other South American countries. It´s a bit of a break before my gut instincts kick in for what will be the challenge of Brazil. I head there tonight on an overnight bus and from what I have heard, not knowing any Portuguese and being blonde may be a big mistake!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MontevideoMontevideo
Montevideo

37 degrees in downtown Montevideo!
Punta Del EstPunta Del Est
Punta Del Est

Giant hands in the sand
Punta Del EstPunta Del Est
Punta Del Est

Hanging with the surfers


9th January 2009

Hi! What are different description of Montevideo than me! ALthough it did rain heavily nearly the whole time I was there! Don't worry about Brazil! Especially Rio DJ.... it's awesome! I had a great time! I spent a bit of time in Santa Theresa and Lapa instead of Copacabana (tourist central).... and go to the Ipanema part of the beach! Have some granola w Acai for me!! I so wish I was there!! x
10th January 2009

hostel
hey amy sounds like a blast im heading to south america in 6days! whats the name of the hostel? thanks in advance logan

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb