Brazil baby!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio Grande do Sul » Porto Alegre
January 11th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

TorresTorresTorres

Overlooking the 500km of beach in Rio Grande Do Sul
Last week I started my Brazilian adventure in the southern state of Rio Grande Do Sul. I was lucky enough to have my good friend Marcus (a Porto Alegre local who I met years back while working in the Whitsundays) and his girlfriend Fernanda, be my hosts and show me around. After my night bus from Montevideo, Marcus kindly met me at the bus terminal and we wandered the streets of Porto Alegre before heading on a road trip into the hills to some gorgeous towns such as Gramado and Canela. The first thing I noticed about Brazil was how green and lush it was. It really is very tropical especially after experiencing a very hot a dry Uruguay. There are also so many different looking people that make up Brazil. Crossing the street you cannot help but notice all the different skin colours and looks, yet everyone pretty much lives without predudice and are united together as Brazilians unlike in other countries such as South Africa or even the States for that matter.

Along with being addicted to the beach life, most Brazilians also seem to be addicted to tea. They take a thermus of hot water everywhere - you see people sipping from their special tea mugs at the bus stops and even behind the wheel while they drive.

Marus and Fernanda were keen to show me the countryside and the coast so it was great to get a look at both and cross the beautiful mountains that reach right down to the ocean. Our second night as spent at a surfing town called Torres with MarcusĀ“sister and her lovely family. I as then spoilt with an authentic Brazilian BBQ which was delicious and we drove to view some of the amazing 500km of unspoilt beach that stretches along the entire state. Despite the rain it was great to get an insight into the Brazilian summer lifestyle and thanks to Marcus and Fernanda I was given a special local introduction to their fabulous and diverse country.

Now itĀ“s time to hit the beautiful paradise island of Florianopolis in Santa Catarina. Until then...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Porto AlegrePorto Alegre
Porto Alegre

Marcus and I
CanelaCanela
Canela

Fernanda and I overlooking the valley of Canela
CanelaCanela
Canela

Trying the tea that everyone is addicted to.
CanelaCanela
Canela

Stopping for the favourite sugar cane drink


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb