The orphanage


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » San Martín » Tarapoto
July 19th 2006
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My favorite little boy!My favorite little boy!My favorite little boy!

this is the gorgeous 2 year old Greyer, who still doesn´t speak but is incredibly independent when it comes to food, but loves crawling all over me!!
So I work in the orphanage in the mornings, helping the psychologist and then I go off and play in the various different houses that the kids live in, of which there are 6.


The kids are lovely as are all the staff that work there. But they just love having kisses and cuddles, I am teaching them Snap! and they love singing ´If your happy and you know it clap your hands! ´


There are about 40 children here and they are very well cared for - however on my return to the UK Rach and I plan to do some fund raising in order to send some money back as obviously things can be improved. So any ideas (so far we have cake sale!!) or support is greatly welcomed!!



Each house has 2 rooms of bunk beds one for boys and one for girls. There is about 3 boys and 3 girls in each. Then the mother of the house has a separate room and each house as a younger ´baby´ that sleeps in with the mother.


The kids all hand wash their own clothes, clean the house as all
Mariana dressed for schoolMariana dressed for schoolMariana dressed for school

Beautiful little girl who loved having her photo taken! she is 8 years old, so cute!!
normal kids would do in Tarapoto. They are given Internet lessons, they all go to school either in the morning or the afternoon, schools have 2 sessions and its pot luck which one you go to.



Despite my lack of Spanish we all get by and I love them all and want to bring far too many of them home with me!!



I have tons of photos, but here are just a few...




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Kids playing games!Kids playing games!
Kids playing games!

this involved wrapping the play mats round their heads and dacnign madly to the radio! adorable!!!!
Beautiful kids!Beautiful kids!
Beautiful kids!

Cojo, baby Greyer, Carlos and Mariana
Elita and GreyerElita and Greyer
Elita and Greyer

2 of my favorites!
The Orphanage GroundsThe Orphanage Grounds
The Orphanage Grounds

The central garden of the orphanage, surrounded by the houses, etc.
Houses sitting roomsHouses sitting rooms
Houses sitting rooms

They are all basically the same, but vary slightly according to how the mother wants to decorate
Classroom i work inClassroom i work in
Classroom i work in

This looks fine, but when it rains it leaks and could do with a lick of paint!


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb