Quick adventure to the amazon


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » San Martín » Tarapoto
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After 4 nights in the Barranco district of Lima, I ventured out with a local to the amazon region of Tarapoto. It was a nice view of the county side along the 29 hour bus ride. Went north up the coast then cut inland over the Andes for the remaining 10 hours. As the bus travelled along the thin ambilical cord connecting the amazon cities, towns, villages with modern civilazation the landscape slowly changed from dry desert to lush humid jungle with peaks and valleys. Arriving in Tarapoto 9pm got a 12 dollar hotel and was anxious to get horizantal after the bus. Tarapoto is a city of about 100,000, fairly compact, with a nice central plaza. Markets and moto/cars fill the streets. moto car are similiar to the tuktuk in thailand. Tarapoto is surrounded by jungle filled with waterfalls, rivers creeks wildlife. The tourist that make the journey are after spotting the scarlett and blue n gold macaws that live in large colonys. Or the indiginous people that live in the forest that sustains their lives. From the small farming to the clay and bamboo that they build their homes with. After two days in Tarapoto went to smaller town of Lames 25 min. where stayed at primo pisa for 10 sol <3.5 dollars a night. Beautiful avacado n mango trees on the property with friendly dogs and chickens roaming. Spent some good time in the village of Pamoshto, where met Aturo who was exited to show off the trails surrounding his home.
The region is great friendly people and natural landscape. Could spend much longer exploring the area and meeting the people. Tarapoto is the last major city before boat is the only means of transportation. Iquitos is a 2 day boat ride the largest city 400,000 not connected by any roads. Save it for another time im heading back to Lima where my pack is waiting.


Advertisement



25th November 2009

Sounds pretty remote. Thanks for encluding me in your blog. I will look forward to following your adventures. Phil
3rd December 2009

Pictures...
That sounds amazing Jeff! I would love to see some of these things you are talking about. Do you have any pictures that you can post? I recommend that you use Picassa Web for uploading them - it's a nice way to do that. I wish I could be there with you bro. Hope you are having a great time and I'm looking forward to reading your next entry. Peace.
3rd December 2009

Radical!!!
Heeeey Jeff, I am so excited for you! You rock...I so wish I was there with you rockin this trek. Sounds amazing! It's funny that your there and so is my cousin, she's climbing Machu Pichu right now! Keep posting...I love reading about your adventures. Wish I could come meet you! Stay safe and healthy...don't do anything I wouldn't do ;) Much Love, Margarite XOXO

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb