Día 9


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos
July 9th 2007
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My apologies for the delay on this blog posting, I could not get to the internet cafe yesterday... I was soooooooooo sick. I spent the afternoon and most of the evening in bed, even skipped dinner! Not sure what I ate but something making my belly very sick. =(

So, day 9 started off interestingly- we were told the evening before that we needed to be ready to leave at 8:45am Monday morning, so Natalie and walked downstairs exactly on time. But where was everyone? We thought maybe they left early? Nah, that never happens. But we did find out that our departure time had been moved to 9:15, due to the schedule of the school we were visiting. Sooo, Rich and I went downstairs to grab some breakfast- coffee and mini rolls, and then headed back up at 9:10, just to leave some extra time. Actual departure time? 9:30. NO ONE can say that I am the one who holds the group up!! We were still waiting on 3 other gals!!

Anyway, I got to enjoy my first ride in a mototaxi!! This is the form of public transportation used here. It was so exciting!! I had been looking forwsrd to riding in one since we first arrived on Saturday night!

Natalie and I stayed together for the observations and saw three classes at Cesar Vallejo, a Catholic school for boys and girls. We sat in on a math class, a science class, and an English class. We were both a little disppointed at the amount of Spanish used in the English class- every time the teacher would give a direction she would immediately give the Spanish translation (a trap that many language teachers fall into). One boy in the class became our "protegero," or protector, and kept the inquisitive students from crowding too close, as the rooms are hot and there is no AC. This particular school was set up like a open classroom environment, as you can see from the photos. It was very noisy and the teachers had to speak much louder than what we are used to back in the US.

Lunch was at Bucanero, a cebicheria right on the Amazon. Beautiful view and had plenty of AC! I just had some chicken soup (dieta de pollo) and some lemonade. I did have some platanos, which I am sure didn´t help my stomach too much. (but they tasted great!)

We went back to the hotel after lunch and I got into pj´s and spent the rest of the day in bed reading. I did read over 400 pages of my new book! (wow!) It´s that good! Missed dinner but Natalie and the boys stopped at the market and got me some crackers. Drinking LOTS of water and eating crackers, yum.

Bedtime around 11, and we get to sleep in a little on Wednesday!!

Hasta luego
Alyssa


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



11th July 2007

enjoy yourself
it looks like you are having a great time. keep that up and stay away from that water. can you stay longer and teach there??? enjoy. oh - dont forget those post cards.
11th July 2007

montezuma's revenge
So sorry you have a belly ache. Knew it would happen, sooner or later. Hopefully, it won't interfere too much with your experience, although this is a part of it! Just heal, and try not to get too run down. Hope dinner tonight was wonderful and you got to enjoy a quiet meal with a family, much like your family in Nicaragua.
11th July 2007

glad you are better
So sorry to hear that you caught the "Spanish diablo". I guess it is inevitable when eating food that you are not used to on a regular basis. Glad you took the time to rest and enjoy your book. What are you reading?? I guess chicken soup cures everyone no matter where it is made. Vistas are beautiful. We are enjoying your commentary everyday!! Stay well and safe. Love, Juanita

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb