La Selva


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Waterfall in the SelvaWaterfall in the SelvaWaterfall in the Selva

Cooooooooooooooooooooooool
Buenos dias a todos! This past weekend, I went to "La Selva". The translation is "jungle" or "forrest", I think. I didn't refer to any sort of dictionary so feel free to correct me if I am wrong. At any rate, it was something else. It was probably the most dangerous thing that I have ever done. It is important though to add that I didn't enter the DEEP jungle. I guess you could say that I was in the "suburbs" of the jungle. The outer suburbs. The suburbs of the suburbs. Ok, back to the danger. It was very dangerous. I almost died or was seriously injured a handful of times. You see, it is very humid in the jungle, and all of the rocks are slippery. Also, if you slip or fall on the trail, there are usually welcoming, soft beds of spiny plants. Or if you decide to catch yourself on a tree, many of them are covered in 5-6 in. spines. Needless to say, I am still picking little things out of my fingers.

In all honesty though, I can't describe it in words, La Selva. I can show you my pictures and all that jazz, but to be there and walk through it is an experience on its own. I am very fortunate to have been able to experience it. I would like to return to La Selva, but next time I want to actually go INTO the jungle and see monkeys, toucans, crocodiles wrestling with anacondas for a tasty meal of venison, or something common like that.

Back to reality. I went to the city of La Merced that is in the district of Chanchamayo (Quechua for "the dangerous river" or something like that). My two Hoosier buddies and I stayed in a hostal there that I think was nesting a family of geckos because by golley, there were some on the ceiling and on the staircases. So, we arrived at 6 am Friday morning, and ate breakfast. I ate an omelet with meat and peppers over rice, papaya juice, and coffee. When I say "omelet" don't think of Denny's or something like that. I wasn't really like that at all. After that we booked a tour and started out at 9:30 am. We visited an old bridge, two waterfalls (we got to swim near one of them, incredible), and an old tribe called the Ashaninka (which was a bit suspicious because they seemed touristy). Then we ate dinner at a local restaurant where they serve dishes indigenous to that area. I ate fried Doncella (a local fish), fried yuca (kind of like potatoes), and fried plantains (like bananas). It was good. We then went to a place where they grind coffee, make coffee liquors, and jams. It was mediocre. We got to try all of their liquors which was fun, but they were all too sweet for me.

The next day, we set out on a trek through the Selva. We walked for 9 hours that day. It was super dangerous, but I only got away with minor injuries. We descended into a cave, walked a lot, tasted some local pineapples and plantains(unbelievable), visited a couple more waterfalls, ate dinner at a local home (rice, hen, beans, fried plantains, and chicha morada to drink). Chicha morada is found everywhere here. It is a drink made from a maroon colored corn called "chicha" and it is boiled with water, pineapples, and cinnamon. Then they mix lemon and sugar with it when it is ready to drink. It is very tasty. I returned that night. That's pretty much it. Sometimes I would look around me and think, Wow. Nature is an awesome thing and there is a ton of it here. Take care all.

Jake


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Three riversThree rivers
Three rivers

This has a certain connotation only a Hoosier could appreciate. It is a cross of three rivers.
I like this picture.I like this picture.
I like this picture.

I should not have to explain why I like this picture.


2nd October 2006

yo mama
dude, good to here from you. sounds like peru is rockin awesome. when are you coming back? oh, did I tell you I think i'm gonna study in australia for a semester? the campus I'm looking at has wild kangaroos living in the quad. Dan
3rd October 2006

you are a penis
good to hear from you too broseph. Peru is indeed an awesome place. I am scheduled to come back a couple days before Christmas, but I am thinking of staying until January to travel a bit more. Australia? Dude, that would be awesome. Which semester would you be doing this? Sounds excellent though. I hope it all works out for you. oh, make sure that you arent wearing any kangaroo urine because they kick really hard. Jake

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb