Planning our Pre-Colombian Civilizations Trip


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
April 29th 2014
Published: March 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

South and Central America Trip 2014


We have been planning to visit South America for quite some time. Years ago Linda's brother visited Machu Picchu and raved about it. As it is the only continent, other than Antarctica, that we have never visited it is about time that we go. As retirees, we have a pretty flexible schedule. We wanted to go when the weather was good (no rain and fog obscuring Machu Picchu) and the tourists few (no crowds and lower prices), which meant May, September or October according to our Travelblog research. We originally targeted mid-Sep to mid-Oct of this year.

I mostly use frequent flyer miles for my travels, usually reserving 330 days in advance to ensure the availability of seats using the fewest miles. But last fall I didn't have enough miles for two round trips, so waited until this last month to book, checking every day for available seats. I now have enough miles for two round trips, but on different airlines. Linda does NOT like to travel by herself. Fortunately, United and American allow booking one way flights so one round trip equals two one way.

Finding two one way flights for this coming fall from Denver to Lima and then return from La Paz proved problematic, involving 30,000 miles or more per one way ticket. So I looked for the April/May time frame and today, for the first time in a month, I found two one way tickets on American Airlines from Denver to Lima on 30 April for 15,000 miles each...I booked them immediately!

I quickly had to find a way back from La Paz about two weeks later. I only had 55,000 miles with United. Everything to Denver involved at least 30,000 miles each. But in looking at the routes, where most flights transited through Bogota, Columbia, Panama City, Panama, and Mexico City, Mexico, a light turned on in the dark recesses of my brain...maybe we could break the trip up with a stop in Mexico where we could then catch an inexpensive flight on a discount airline back to Denver. And maybe I could pick a city other than Mexico City. I checked the miles required and seat availability from La Paz to several cities in Mexico, and the cost of tickets from those cities to Denver. There were seats from La Paz to most Mexican destinations on most days for 20,000 miles each.

The question was where to take the breaks and for how long...Mexico City with the Teotihuacan pyramids or Cancun with Tulum, Chichen Itza, and the beaches. The discount airlines prices were about the same from each city to Denver, so with Linda's approval, I booked two tickets via Bogota and Panama City to Cancun.

We had a choice how to spend 8 hours en route...four hours in each city or a short transit in one and a whole day in the other. So we picked an hour in Bogota and eight hours in Panama City...enough time to see the Panama Canal and the Casco Viejo (the old town). The flights were booked, also immediately. What would we do without the internet!

So Plan B resulted in us saving a total of 50,000 frequent flyer miles; and with just the added cost of flying one way from Cancun to Denver (~$220/person), we can spend a day in Panama City, Panama, and four full days in Cancun. At least Spring Break is over with and low season brings great hotel prices. We get to explore both the Inca and Mayan civilizations! This is almost as good a travel deal as Maisondubonheur finds.

As neither Linda nor I speak Spanish (I tried but keep mixing up Spanish with my French and German), and we didn't want to put up with the scams, the time to arrange logistics (taxi, bus, train, and air transportation, hotels, day tours, etc.), the dangerous areas, the border crossing issues, etc. we decided to book our time in Peru and Bolivia with a tour agency. We will see Lima, Cusco, the Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, and Lake Titicaca in Peru; Copacabana, the Island of the Sun, and La Paz, Bolivia; then Panama City, Panama, Cancun and the Mayan temples on the Yucatan, Mexico...all in two weeks! This calls for very efficient and hopefully effective travel plan! This will be our first extended tour in my sixty four years of traveling, so await my blogs to see if it turns out ok.

Last year I published a "planning" blog, Planning my Silk Road and Baltics RTW, before my RTW trip along the Silk Road to China, Uzbekistan, and the Baltics. The blog was intended to be an example of how I plan trips as many first time Travelbloggers ask how one goes about planning a trip. This is another blog in that same vein, but with different challenges. This one emphasizes being prepared to make quick decisions after exploring many not so obvious alternatives to find the most cost effective way to travel without sacrificing quality. Fortunately, I don't have to wait six weeks for visas as I did last year. But I still hate to pay $135 for a visa to Bolivia!

Advertisement



5th March 2014

Nice plan
I like the way your mind works. I spend many an hour (usually at work) making such calculations, juggling destinations and cost. Even with the tour you will be covering a lot of ground in that time. Having said that it is certainly doable, though altitude could be a slight concern. $135 for a visa is unfortunately the price you pay for being American. Reciprocity fees also apply to Chile and Brazil, so South America can prove expense if you are from the US. You made the right choice picking Yucatan over Mexico City. Look forward to your trip.
5th March 2014

I am so excited for you!
Wow, this will be a great trip. Good job on the airlines. It really does take some finagling and perseverance to get the right flights. I agree with the visa costs associated with many South American cities, but it is all part of it. You will be in for a great time. I can't wait to read your blogs.
7th March 2014

Hey guys!
You will love South America! it's awesome I've been there a few times ( Colombia the most times) I skipped Bolivia and Paraguay because of the hefty Visa fee, but have heard great things about Bolivia!! Have a safe trip!!
7th March 2014

Don't go too soon...
...I haven't caught up with all your other blogs yet!
8th March 2014

On Mar 3 or so I had about a dozen hits on my blogs...
a day later I had over 200 hits. Someone had read every one except 10 of my blogs! When this kind of thing happens I wonder who it is as I would like to communicate with them. I appreciate you having enough interest to read through mine...take your time though!
9th March 2014

Wow, what an adventure!
I'll still be down here then, but I think it would be a miracle if we were in the same spots at the same time. The Bolivian visa is good for 5 years, so I've surprised myself and am back this year for another 3 months. Those reciprocal visas are so sad--the US charges visitors from poor countries this same amount to enter our country, but we don't charge tourists from rich countries in Europe and Asia to enter. I don't like paying the visas, but I don't blame them for charging us either. Have fun planning your details! Who knows, maybe we'll meet!
9th March 2014

We will be in La Paz the nights of 7 and 8 May...
so if you are there then it would be great to get together for dinner. We'll be at the Columbus Hotel. As for visa fees, I suspect that the U.S. requires this from countries where there is a high chance of tourists overstaying their visa. Whether a targeted country replies in kind is likely based upon a cost benefit calculation of how many tourists are likely to stay away if charged for a visa and the consequent loss of tourism revenues, against the revenue benefit of the visa fee. Or just tit for tat, despite the lost revenues.
10th March 2014

All is possible...
Wow, Bob, this is within the realm of possibility! I'm completely clueless of my plans after this week when I'll meet with Brendan, but I will surely still be in Bolivia in May. I'll do my best to see if we can get together. After all, I was a vagabond Navy brat and so admire your writing those old blogs for your kids. Regarding the reciprocal fees, I do agree with you as to why we impose them; it's just sad for the sincere travelers down here who'd like to experience first-hand that which they see in the media. Oh well, how lucky for us that we were born on the easy side of life! See you and Linda in May!
11th March 2014

Great!
I hope it isn't too inconvenient for you. See you in May.
7th April 2014

Am I meant to travel?
Last year six weeks before my trip to China I broke my ankle. Now, three weeks before this trip I broke my right elbow. I can travel with a broken elbow!

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 19; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb