El Mercado de Surquillo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
January 23rd 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Known as one of Lima’s highlights when in food tourism, the Surquillo Market is one of the most unique and extensive markets that I have ever seen. Famous due to the attention and praise it received from the famous Peruvian chef, Gaston Acurio, this market has also often been considered a gastronomic center of Lima, and even Peru. South America luxury traveltypically incorporates visits to famous restaurants like those owned by Gaston, but the true culinatry delights of Peru come right from the marketplace. The market is open daily, and its plethora of food and spices includes fruits from the exotic Amazon rainforest, potatoes and chilies from the distant mountaintops of the Andes, and fresh seafood from the beautiful towns that scatter the coast of the country of Peru.

When I stepped out of the cab, I immediately noticed that it was different from the other markets that I have been to in Lima. For example, it was much larger, was indoors, and had an entire cobblestone paved alleyway branching off from the market that had numerous restaurants where fresh food, most likely from the market, was prepared by locals with long years of gastronomic expertise. Opposite to the market itself, many of the storefront markets and street vendors alike offered their food out in the open air. Although the concept was puzzling to me, it did keep most of the flies and other bugs out of the food, and along with being indoors, the setup of the market made it so that the meat and seafood was the farthest into the great complex, and therefore extremely fresh while also being especially “fly-free.” This was a big deal for a person like me, who had grown up with sealed food and was not too fond of bugs swarming the food I was planning to eat.

After about an hour, I was looking around for any last touches that I may need for the coming week. I was holding around five or so bags filled to the brim with fruits, vegetables, seafood, and meat that had cost me a price that was fractional when in comparison to the prices at the supermarkets, here or even in the U.S. The food was also extremely fresh, and some vegetables could have only been found in Peru. Even from some of the samples of fresh fruit I had tasted, I knew I could fully expect that, as long as the food was prepared correctly, I would truly experience the culture and gastronomic beauty of Peru. Shopping at the marketplace is also a great way to stock up on snacks for Machu Picchu luxury tours or Peru hikes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb