Everybody's going surfing...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
November 2nd 2009
Published: November 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, the best of intentions don't seem to be enough to keep me up to date with this blog! Still, now I am in dubai for a week and have constant email access, maybe I will be able to catch up a bit!

I wasn't overly sorry to leave Lima, as much fun as it was to walk down the street with random Peruvians shouting "You have red hair! You have freckles!" at me! Our next stop was Haurez, a fairly small town north of Lima that is on the edge of a national park. After yet another sunglasses shopping trip (3rd pair in 6 weeks) we all headed out for a group dinner. Sadly Angus got impatient waiting for his pizza and took mine before I had a chance to claim it. By the time he realised there wasn't any chicken on his chicken pizza, he'd eaten half of it so I was left a bit hungry! Meant I had to have desert which was a real shame.

The next day, me, Abby, Riki and Dan headed up into the mountains to go rock climbing. I was slightly concerned when our guide felt that my half day climbing course a year ago qualified me to b-lay for him but thankfully I didn't drop him. Despite my disastrous first climb, it was brilliant fun, both the climbing and the company. Especially when two gorgeous children came to watch the crazy gringos trying to pull themselves up the mountainside and used their cuteness to try and get all the goodies out of our lunch bags!

The next day we hiked up to Laguna 69 - a stunningly blue lake high up in the mountains. We were back to hiking at altitude which was hard work but it was well worth it. Particularly the beautiful walk back down. Sadly my camera chose that day to go crazy so all my photos from the climbing and the walk vanished into the technological ether and are yet to be recovered.

Next stop on the grand tour was Huanchuca - back down on the Peruvian coast thank goodness! Huanchaca is a small surfy town and after a very pleasant evening in a bar playing with a kitten (then doing the can can on the walk home at 3am!) a select few of us headed off to visit Chan Chan and the Huaca del Luna. both were very impressive ruin sites, but I probably would have got more out of them on slightly more than 3 hours sleep. The highlight of Huanchuca though was the surfing lesson that afternoon. After a slightly embarrassing 45 min lesson on the beach (embarrassing because we looked oh so cool in our wet suits, lying on pretend surfboards drawn on the sand!) we headed into the water. I wasn't exactly top of the class but i did manage to stand up right at the end of lesson and actually surfed!!

Punta Sal offered one of the highlights of the trip. Not only did we camp on the beach, not only did i have a very interesting conversation with Angus about life the universe and everything, but Abby and I were crowned undisputed dance competition winners after our expertly choreographed and performed routine to Umbrella. Something I shall be proud of for the rest of my days! So I left Peru on a high as the next day we crossed the border into Ecuador.

Advertisement



2nd November 2009

having a ball
Ella sounds like you are having a ball. Bet the week in luxury is much apprecaited after all that roughing it! Hope you had the right things at your sisters when you got there - rememeber those conversations in the office above the garage about what to take and what to leave behind. Stay happy! Sue

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb