Welcome To South America


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
December 31st 2007
Published: December 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

moto2moto2moto2

Just a street off the main road in Lambayeque...this is pretty much every street in town.
Finally I realized that I might be biting off more than I can chew. Might!! I landed in Lima about 11:30 Dec 30. And standing in the serpant of a line that is immigration, it was clear that I knew nothing. New faces, new food, new language!! I am truly lost in translation...for now. A sea of people behind barricades waited eagerly in anicipation of their friends and loved ones to appear in the chaos. Its clear that blonde hair and pale skin make you a target here. A target for pedlers, beggers, over-anxious taxi drivers, muggers posing as taxi drivers and thieves posing as muggers!! Its new years eve today so there is a festive mood in the air in Lima, stacked accordingly on top of the already celebration crazy spirit the entire continant is known for. Comunication is awkward at best so far. A process of elmination consisting of pointing, sign language and buckets of confusingly blank stares. We spent the day in the Miraflores area of Lima and leave tonight for the notrthern city of Chiclayo where I will work then to Lamabyeque city (10mi) where I will be living. I dont quite know how im going to pull this off...teaching english while simultaneiously learning spanish...basic everyday survival will be an adventure in and of itself. Im up for it though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

mi casami casa
mi casa

I live on the first floor of these appartments. Its right on the main road so it can get kind of noisy.


3rd January 2008

Mmmm....________
What is the food like? Any American fast food chains?
4th January 2008

food
Well so far the food is good. Ive had alot of chevieche...raw fish marinated in lime juice to cook it...its ok....oh and I ate raw squid..no bueno...and lots of sheep..si bueno. Umm..Kfc and Pizza hut is here but only in large towns like in mall areas and its very expensive. I had friend fish and potatoes today at a cafe and it was very good.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb