Lima, Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arroz con mariscosArroz con mariscosArroz con mariscos

Rice with seafood. I´ve had this dish twice and it´s one of my favorites so far.
I am in Lima for a couple of days. I feel like I’m back in the States. There is every American fast-food chain restaurant imaginable here from McDonald’s to Pizza Hut - even a Dunkin Donuts and a Payless Shoe Source. If I was missing American food, which I’m not, I would be in heaven. Lima is described as the most modern of all the South American cities. I believe it after walking around this morning. It’s a bittersweet moment for me because while being in a big city has its perks - hot water, wireless connections, cheap, nice hostels - it also has its downfalls. The people are distant, food is more expensive, actually, everything is more expensive. I’m sitting at a bloody Starbucks sipping on a cappuccino as I type this. A cappucino that costs twice as much as all the meals I had in Iquitos!

At night, I met up with a friend from Couchsurfing, Luis. We walked around town, checked out the beach and the local neighborhoods and clubs. Then we went to a pena. A pena is a club where they have local folk music and dancing. It was absolutely amazing! I loved it!
La CumbiaLa CumbiaLa Cumbia

La Cumbia is a Peruvian folk dance.
There were two women singing who had the most beautiful, soulful, passionate voices I´ve ever heard. It was fabulous! I was able to take a few pictures and movies before my camera battery ran out. I´ll try to upload videos as well. I have some from the Amazon too. It takes a long time to load videos so it´ll take a while 😊

I can’t wait to get back to the smaller towns. But first I have to head to the mecca of tourism - Macchu Picchu. The place will be swarming with tourists and this is high season. I hope the Lost City is worth all the hype.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



1st July 2007

Hey Jen, Hope you take lots of photos at Machhu Picchu.
2nd July 2007

hi Jen! i wud like to see your happy face in some of the picts too ;-) Have fun...

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb