¿Are we there yet?


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
August 13th 2005
Published: August 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so we´ve been planning this trip for months. In fact maybe longer. It´s been 15 years since the last time my family and I´ve been to Peru, and I´m really not sure quite what to expect.

Nick and I have been doing a lot of research, reading up on different things we´d like to do, places we´d like to see. So to finally be getting ready for this trip was almost like a dream. Packing wasn´t as swift as we hoped it would be...but we managed...we think. At least we did better than my parents. They were still packing up until the very last minute. But that wasn´t the worst part of the preparation. Our flights from Newark to Lima were all secure and we had our confirmation printed out, and in hand. But I booked our flight from Lima to Cuzco on-line. I didn´t print out the confirmations right when I booked the flight, because, knowing me...I´d end up losing them. So, I figured I¨d wait until a day or two before we leave to print them out. Luckily I didn´t wait untill we got to Lima, because to my surprise our reservations were canceled! After spending most of the day on the phone with the airlines, I finaly got things straightened out....I hope I did at least. Our flight to Cuzco isn´t intil 16/8/05. With that maddness behind us, we thought the travel jinx had passed. So, with our minds at ease we got all our gear together, got our pick up at the door (thanks to Buddy, our driver that had to pack up the van with our 10 overstuffed suitcases), and made our way to the airport on time. We checked our bags, and made our way to our gate...and waited...and waited....and waited...only to get the news that our flight was over booked and that not all of us would be going to Lima, and that our carry on bags may have to be checked. Great! Luckly, we dodged the travel jinx again and got our seats secure. (But the one travel jinx I couldn´t get over is this bad head cold I got a day prior to our flight, *thanks Nick*, that was made worse by the flight itself.) So, after the very quick, sleepless flight we landed...claimed our bags, changed some money, and got the red light at customs. So once again, we had to load, unload, and load our 10 over stuffed suitcases. But after all that, we finaly made it through customs and waited, and waited, and waited for my Aunt and Uncle to pick us up (I have to get used to Peruvian time, it´s always an hour late), we made our way to their gorgeous house in the La Molina district of Lima. We ate, rested and now our real adventure begins. Well, after the obligated family visits and partying, of coarse. But I´m sure that´ll be an adventure onto itself. More entries and pictures to come soon.

So far Peru hasn´t been too bad. From my last memories I can tell of some improvments. Lima´s airport has been redone, and is a lot more user friendly. And the area around the airport has been cleaned up. The one thing that stayed the same is the total disregard for traffic laws. Good lord! What happened to yeild for pedestrians? I´m sure this´ll be a lot more interesting tomorrow when we venture out in the city for some sight seeing.

More then....

Advertisement



14th August 2005

...
...sounds fun. where are you guys planning on travelling? where did you buy your tickets for travelling within Peru? My family and I are also planning to go to Bolivia after they haven't gone for like 22 years (and I have never been). We are connecting through Lima. I imagine Bolivia is very similar to Peru. Is it better to buy internal (national) airplane tickets from Peru itself? Good luck with your travels... Post lots of pictures!
16th September 2005

Peru can be similar to Bolivia
Peru isn't one nation, but many within the same borders. Lima is very different from the rest of the country (it contains the 3rd of the nation's population). The best of Peru is the Southern area, because is very much full of indigenous and mestizo (mixed) people and their culture makes that area the richest and most fascinating places to visit. This area is the most similar to Bolivia and the Andean regions of Ecuador, Chile and Argentina.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb