Lima, Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
February 24th 2017
Published: February 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So Lima has been delicious so far. The flavors in the ceviche are very special, it must be the peppers. The small ceviche restaurants always think I will start with ceviche and then have “segundo”. I have to make sure I say Solo or I get a huge plate of rice and meat. I learned this the hard way. A few older ladies didn't believe this was all I wanted, their faces reflected mild sympathy for my obvious mental disorder. Also, I am now in love with Lomo Saltado, beef and peppers in a succulent brown sauce served with rice and french fries, I know. Oh and the sandutches, pretty crazy sandwiches that always seem to include avocado.





I went to the art museum here (MALI) and fell in love with a couple of the modern pieces. They had a Szyszlo and my new favorite Macedonio De La Torre. They had some pretty epic ancient artifacts like tupos. I had no idea what a tupo was till now. I thought they went in your hair.(they are for holding a shawl closed F.Y.I.) Also a masterpiece called The Funeral of Atahualpa by Luis Montero, which is about the size of my entire apartments floor plan. I would go back in a heart beat if I had time.



I walked all the way back to the hostel from the Museum. It took a good 4 hours. I stopped for coffee and beer at various places along the way. It was freaking hot. 80F and sunny, I also stopped to apply lots of sunscreen.





I have a ticket to Ica,Peru. Where i will slide down some dunes perhaps. I leave at noon tomorrow and then on to Arequipa, Peru,where I will spend more time so I can get used to the altitude before my cross into Bolivia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

lomo saltadalomo saltada
lomo saltada

lomo saltado at Manolos.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb