The next nine days


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
January 10th 2017
Published: January 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Mercado 1Mercado 1Mercado 1

The entrance to the market, inside you will find fruit, vegetables, meats nuts and more. Shops all around for everything else.
Wow! I've been here ten days, time is passing to fast. I've been stocking my groceries, cooking, site seeing, visiting friends. I returned to Ians for a full day of cooking. believe it or not, Peruvians don't have biscuits and gravy or Cajun food. So for breakfast I prepared biscuits, gravy, chorizo, eggs with sliced tomatoes and fruit salad. The only sausage I have found here is chorizo? Of course Ian, being from Ohio loved the breakfast but Veronica and her family couldn't understand why I would make bread like the buscuit and gravy, whats that? While cooking breakfast I put on a big pot of red beans to boil and did the prep for red beans and rice. I brought spices from home but had to use chirizo instead of andouille sausage, Left cooking all day while we visited friends. The red beans turned out pretty good with the chorizo sausage. All the family loved the dish.

As I said i stocked my kitchen did a lot of grocery shopping. I love the grocery stores, fairly good selection but expensive. However i discovered the Macado 1 about ten blocks from my apartment, a cooks paradise. A huge open market with fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts, fresh chicken, beef, pork and some meat I didn't recognize. So much fruit, I love fresh fruit, strawberries, pineapple, peaches, bananas and fruit like I have never seen. They have great honey, so I've been eating my fill of fruit ensalada. The Macada 1 (market) has shops all around from cleaning products to car parts. The walk to the Macada is interesting and secnic, La Paz Ave, it's maybe ten blocks, crossing the Pan Americano, a modern 4 lane highway that runs all the way to Chile with a rapid transit bus in the center. I strolled down La Paz this past Sunday, they had it blocked off to traffic and tents with antiques and art down the middle of the avenue. La Paz is the place to go for jewelry, antiques and art. Need a Rolex?

Peru, especially Miraflores is a contradiction of Chaos and tranquility, a melting pot of cultures. Miraflores is a district in Lima with 30 districts and forty three districts in the Metropolitan Municipality. Ten million people live in Lima with estimated fourteen million including the Metro area, over three thousand people per square kilometer. That's a lot of people, to many, people extremely wealthy to astute poverty. The roads to and from other districts is complete chaos, I must stress this point, everyone disregarding lanes, traffic lights and most intersections outside the city have no traffic lights or stop signs. This makes for bumper car driving with buses and trucks thrown in to keep you honest. Always an adventure. Having fallen in love with this country at a very young age I want to see it from the inside out not the outside in. I spend very little money, I cook in my apartment, shop locally and when I eat out I eat in local restaurants for eight solos or less, less than $3.00. Having said this, I realize this would not appeal to most travelers. If you want to be pampered and all transportation and site seeing provided it is certainly here. So much to see here, Machu Picchu, Nazca lines, oasis in Ica, beautiful beaches in Paracas, and the list goes on and on. December, January and February is summer time, 75 plus degrees, most of the time comfortable. So, come on down, I know you will find the adventure you have always wanted. Me gusto
The Pan AmericanoThe Pan AmericanoThe Pan Americano

Shot from the overpass on the way to Macado
Peru!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Suite Service Apartment HotelSuite Service Apartment Hotel
Suite Service Apartment Hotel

My apartment is in this hotel, privately owned by me amigo.
The front of Suite ServicesThe front of Suite Services
The front of Suite Services

Entrance to my apartment
Maria, Desk clerk, manager of Suite ServicesMaria, Desk clerk, manager of Suite Services
Maria, Desk clerk, manager of Suite Services

My apartment is in this hotel, it is larger than the other apartments. You can rent an apartment here for $80 to $350 US dollars per night.


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb