Last days & nights in Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
December 8th 2009
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

November 13-15

Amazon Jungle - Thursday November 13, 2009

The last night in the jungle was one that allowed me to sleep very well beneath the mosquito net and with animals lingering and leaping in the dense forestation mere metres away. A nice cold shower was a certainty in making sure that I awoke fully from the deep sleep of the night before.

Following the delicious buffet breakfast and after packingwe made our way to the long boat that would take us back to Puerto Maldonado. Along the way we managed to spot a few of the howler monkeys we had heard earlier on though for now, they were as silent as we were - perhaps they were watching us as much as we were them?! Minutes passed without a sound other than the branches and leaves rustling and flinging back into place.

Having to move on in order to make the boat's departure time, we left the menagerie of monkeys in their silent morning mingling. Hoping to get a sight of a sloth, we remained silent and mindful of any possible, though slow, movements in the trees lining the river. Unfortunately, the one animal I was most eager to see eluded me... perhaps next time.

At Puerto Maldonado, we disembarked and farewelled Alejandra as we then made our way to Cusco for a short stop-over and then we boarded a flight that would return us to Lima for our final few days of the tour.

Lima was as we had left it a few weeks earlier and we were introduced to our new guide, Adarra (rolliing the r's) who replaced Wilfredo who had remained in his home town of Cusco.

After settling back into Hostal Pukara, some of the group decided to rest while the rest of us went to Larocomar, a shopping centre perched on the side of a cliff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I'm sot sure if it was the time of day or the lingering pollution but the view of the western horizon, whilst spectacular, was obscured by a haze.

I picked up a trinket or two for me and for gifts in the more 'economical' part of the centre and then we wandered around the more expensive part of the centre looking at statues made in China for the cost of a cigarette and a cheeseburger but selling for 500 times that.

With shopping not really my thing and the others tired from all the activities, we returned to the hotel for a shower with heated water and a change for the last group dinner before some of the group departed for home or an onward journey.

After surveying the group for dining requests, Adarra takes us to the restaurant district where we had Italian on a balcony overlooking markets situated around the plaza. Though for a while, we thought we may not make it with the cab driver giving us a few close calls on the way - swerving, speeding, tailgating; he dit it all!

Though the company was great and we were all getting jovial on the pisco sours and beers we were consuming, the meals were somewhat disappointing with most of the dishes cold. Being the worst type of customer, we convinved the restaurant to give us the meals for free. We still had to pay for the drinks though...

Perhaps we should have monitored the drink consumption as Michael seemed to have had a few too many as he sat slumped and slurring his words and laughing at what seemed to be nothing at all! We were entertained as we listened to the gurgled rumblings and we struggled to get him to the roadside in order to get him into a cab.

Though the bulk of the group decided to go home and rest up, Richard, Aine, Chris and I opt to continue the fun and head to a bar not far from the restaurant. Thinking it to be a regular bar, we were soon left to ponder if we had stumbled into a caberet bar with a band and a singer. We bought a round of pisco sours (that were much stronger than those at dinner) and not long after, a microphone was thrust into my face where I was encouraged to repeat the lyrics of the singer - in Spanish. I have to say, I was pretty darn good with a the 7 people in the place giving it up for the little speckled Aussie!

The rest of the night is remembered mostly through the photos taken on the night as we continued to buy rounds of pisco sours and I think some beers. Needless to say, I was up and dancing as the drinks continued and the four of us were cutting it up - I have the photos to prove it too!

I can't remember what time we left but I do have a vague recollection of leaving the cab whilst it was still moving for what reason, I don't know! Luckily, Richard and I were again room mates so the two of us staggered to our room and slumped into our beds to sleep of the night that was!


Friday November 14 - The Parade of Exits

The next morning, I awoke late and with an almighty hangover! I missed seeing off the Aussie Trio of Michael, Chris and Kath - I don't know how the two drinkers managed it! Managing to have some coffee and toast for breakfast, I mustered up some energy and farewelled Kim and Stephen who were leaving to return to the land of the long white cloud - New Zealand and Megan going back to the land of Oz.

I don't know who found it but the place we had lunch, 'Sweet something or rather' was like a Peruvian Subway crossed with a coffee shop and a bakery. The food was unreal but really, with a hangover, nearly any food would have tasted good!

We found a supermarket 'Makro'which had EVERYTHING for sale there, where we purchased some snacks and foods for us to munch on when we returned to the hotel.

Making ourselves at home in the foyer of the hotel, we settled in for an afternoon and evening of movie watching and eating junk food that constitued dinner. During the film fest, we farewelled Aine on her way back to Ireland leaving just Richard and I.


Saturday November 15 - The Voyage Home

Not wanting to miss my flight and also with what seemed to be a dance troupe rehearsing in the room above me, I awoke for my last time in Peru.

I managed a Spanglish conversation with the desk clerk and ordered a cab to take me to the airport. As I struggled to put the net over my backpack, I said goodbye to Richard after some brekkie and coffee.

The ride to the airport allowed me take one last look at Lima (from the ground at least) with it's smokey haze over the coastline and city. The eager few were up and exercising, running and doing sit-ups along the beach whilst the stray dogs rummaged for scraps and wandered the streets, absent of anyone else.

I'm tempted to sell my bag mesh to the cabbie what with his keen interest in it but alas, I still have to transfer planes in Santiago and again in Auckland so thought it best to leave it on there for security and I couldn't be bothered trying to get it off.

Only 31 hours until I get home - I must remember to scrub my shoes when I get into Auckland so that I have footwear when I arrive back into Brisbane!




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb