Hola Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
February 12th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BeachBeachBeach

This is the pre-sunburn photo of my on the beach in Lima.
Hola! Wish you were here, all those people stuck in the Northern Hemisphere. We could compare sunburns. Nope, I am not complaining. It is hot and humid here, and the beach is one street away from my hostel. I did all those backpacker things in the morning...you know, find bank machine that works, grocery store, travel agent, stamp vender, and BEACH. I have taken many photos of flowers for all my Canadian buddies who have snow, then rain, then snow, etc.
I have sunburn on my feet, legs, face and chest, and it feels good. (she says until the pain starts)
Peru is fabulous. I know, it is only one day, but the food is great, beaches beautiful, weather is summer, what more can I say? I will let the photos do the talking, as per usual. Today´s highlights were dipping my feet in the Pacific waters, strolling along parks and finding the Love park, sipping Peruvian drink on a lovely pier.
Tomorrow I fly to Cusco and will spend three days getting climatized to the thin mountain air. By Tuesday I should be heading towards MachuPicchu.
My flights were relatively smooth yesterday, once the first plane touched down in Toronto.
OrangeOrangeOrange

Flowers in the park
The fog was so thick that the first attempt to land was aborted. We were late leaving for Lima, and when we got there we had to line up for customs for about 40 minutes. Stressful for me, because taxi driver was waiting to pick me up and take me to the hostel. It was a huge relief walking out of arrivals area and seeing my name on his sign. He was very informative about Peru, and adviced me to try local foods and drink. Today, in the grocery store, I think I found the rice cooked with dark beer and the Peruvian-style suschi. I cheated, and microwaved the raw fish and potato meal. All of it was delicious.
I did not make it to the Inca ruins made of bricks which was to the left of the hostel. My feet are aching with the miles that I walked today. I will try to see ruins and museums in April, on my way home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

FlowersFlowers
Flowers

My winter eyes drink in the colours. Birds chirp with exotic tones, too
Love ParkLove Park
Love Park

This is the park of love. There was a tour bus of Japanese visiters. Look at the initials on pants pocket. Mean anything?
ViewView
View

View from park of love. I walked to the pier below and got cooling drink from cafe at the end. Nice breeze from the water
PierPier
Pier

Upscale and calmer than the pier at Brighton, but the beaches are similar, with pebbles and stones.
Cafe on pierCafe on pier
Cafe on pier

Lapping waves and cool breezes go well with comfy couches
Peru drinkPeru drink
Peru drink

Peruvian drink is pisco sour, very nice on a hot day.
BirdsBirds
Birds

Can you see them? They were entertaining Japenese tourists who were going into the pricy restaurant at end of pier.
ShorelineShoreline
Shoreline

View from end of pier
Other sideOther side
Other side

This is the other view from end of pier
Too much sunToo much sun
Too much sun

Can you see the burn, I mean tan, beginning. By the time I walked along the beach to this pier, I thought I was melting
Steps down to beachSteps down to beach
Steps down to beach

Travel tip - consider the time of day when you descend these stairs, and the time when you attempt to walk up....in blaring heat and sun
SurfersSurfers
Surfers

The beach has pounding surf, which is the reason why the surfers come.
Beach walkBeach walk
Beach walk

I was heading for the next set of stairs that would get me back up to the city.
Parking lotParking lot
Parking lot

I think it is still summer vacation for children here.
Look offLook off
Look off

This park is near the hostel
Some GuySome Guy
Some Guy

Too hot to stop and read about this monument
StreetStreet
Street

The sea is at end of street, the hostel is halfway here, near that car
TreesTrees
Trees

Lovely orange flowers
FountainFountain
Fountain

Fountin is in centre of round-about at end of main street


13th February 2009

wow
Looks fabulous! We've had snow here, pretty unusual, and it's really cold. So am jealous of you in the warm weather.
13th February 2009

jelous as hell!!
Well you made it!!!! I am so happy for you, you look great, very extatic to be in Lima. I am sooo jelous, wish I was there sipping on that drink in the sun with you. It looks great there, love the sun and flowers, reminds me of hawiaii, same flowers. Cant wait to see the next blog. Love and hugs Marie Have lots of fun
13th February 2009

not fair
I demand to see pictures of ice, snow, freezing rain, teeth chattering and rabid dogs running.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb