Rest Day


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
January 4th 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I take it really easy today as I'm off for Nazca tomorrow by bus. I paid for a first class ticket. Maybe next time I will get a second class ticket to see if there is a difference between the classes. It's very hot and I only spend one hour down on the beach before I head back to the hostel. Yes, I actually made it down to the beach. I was going to go surfing here in Miraflores but the water looks very dirty and the Lonely Planet guide book says that it's polluted. Also, talking to all the Aussies (including the surfers), they all said the same thing. If the Aussie won't surf then I think I shouldn't either.

I go to the supermarket for lunch and dinner. I haven't tried to speak English at the market yet. I would just point to what I want and that got me through without any problems for the most part. At dinner, I wanted something more, so I got brave and tried to order 200 grams of some pasta dish. I couldn't find grams in my Lonely Planet Spanish language guide book, so, I was just going to wing it. To my surprise, the guy on the other side of the counter knows English. Note to self: try speaking English first before Spanish or ask if the person knows English. My god! If I had known sooner that he spoke English, I would have been eating like a king. Oh well, live and learn. I spent the rest of the night talking to my fellow travelers and getting email addresses.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb