Lima and home


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
August 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We only had 24 hours or so in Lima after flying in from Cusco but it was enough time to meet up with Brin, Brock, Jamie and Mike, the Americans we met on the jeep tour. We did some shopping at Polvos Azules a massive market selling everything under the sun, we saw Batman - Caballero de la noche and ate pizza. We stayed in Miraflores which is apparently the nicest place in Lima, bearing that in mind I won't be rushing back to see the rest of the city.

At Lima airport I thought I may have waved goodbye to my luggage when it was chucked on the conveyor belt at check in by an over zealous baggage handler before it had been tagged. I also picked up a bottle of Pisco only for it to be confiscated later on in Madrid because you can't take liquids over 100ml on board (what the hell is the point of the duty free shops then?). Thanks to Rich's super hearing we heard our names being called as we sat waiting to board the plane in Lima. I was thinking it was probably something to with our luggage accidentally being sent to Venezuela but much to my delight we were upgraded to business plus! The 12 hour flight just breezed by in our flat-reclining, massaging chairs with our complimentary moisturiser and aftershave and our smoked salmon and veal consomme. I'm not sure I'll be able to fly cattle class long haul ever again.

In Madrid after losing my Pisco we sat around for a few hours waiting for a new plane to be readied after some chumps broke the original. This delay meant I missed my flight home to Edinburgh and had to stay in a hotel at Iberia's expense. On the train back to Dundee the next day I enjoyed a can of delicious, tepid Irn-Bru.

It's good to be home.

Although I did have one nasty surprise waiting for me. My new car which I bought 2 weeks before going travelling was attacked by a slate off my parents roof and has had the paint chipped off in a couple of places. Ouch.

Well that's all folks. I hope you enjoyed the blog at least half as much I enjoyed the trip.

Advertisement



6th August 2008

Great Blog
Well done guys epsecially keeping up with the blog - I thoroughly enjoyed reading of your exploites and felt deeply sorry about the pisco. You are both welcome at our house in Didcot at any time and as I bring back pisco every time I go to Chile (6x per year) you will be able to sample it again! Make sure you keep me on your list for your next adventure - whenever that might be! Ralph
7th August 2008

Sounds a magic trip man!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb