Living the Low Life in Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Miraflores, LimaMiraflores, LimaMiraflores, Lima

I was expecting all of Lima to be a dive.
Wow what an ordeal in Lima! I lost my bank card within 20 minutes of being in South America. Yep, right in the damn airport inside an ATM. I got the cash (Peruvian Soles) and the receipt but somehow overlooked retrieving my most valuable posession: my bank card. The ATMs are a bit different here and you have to hit a button to eject the card. I´d like to blame it on the fact that it was like 1:00 am and I had just gotten off of a long plane ride, but I think maybe I´m just retarded.
So needless to say after a couple days when it was time to get some more cash I was shocked to see an empty slot in my wallet my bank card should have been. I am also carrying a Visa card but it isn´t set up with a PIN so I can´t take cash out on it in the ATMs. I had 10 dong days of being broke-ass until I learned that I could go to a bank with my Visa and passport and get a cash advance on my credit card. Haha so I guess I kinda wasted a couple
America in LimaAmerica in LimaAmerica in Lima

That´s a really nice mall built into the cliffs on the coast. Not what I´d imagined to find in Peru...they had like Tony Romas and stuff.
weeks scrounging to survive in Lima. At least I met some good friends at the hostel and still had some good times. I have new friends from Brazil and Argentina that I will definately be stopping in on when I visit their countries.
Now here´s the deal if you ever plan on visiting South America. GET SPANISH LESSONS FIRST!!! Take a freakin class or something. Beyond hand gestures and a few words I´m totally screwed! I mean I can ask and answer the most basic of questions. But the language is so fast that I´m always asking people to speak more slowly and even then I usually don´t understand. Hmmm I guess for being in Lima so long I sure don´t have many pictures. Oh well I need some breakfast so I´ll just put a few up quickly.

Next blog: food, friends, Huanchaco, and fun


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

Lima´s biggest downfall: no sand...the beaches are all rock.
The bar in the hostelThe bar in the hostel
The bar in the hostel

Many, many hours hangin out in this place....
Outside the hostelOutside the hostel
Outside the hostel

Man what an area...burger king, pizza hut, and you can see McDonald´s across the street here


2nd February 2008

Hey Lima Lover...
sounds like a shitty way to start the trip but its kind of a god send if you think of it, you got to meet those people and learn a bit of spanish, and plan a bit of your destination points. Have fun learning the language. Au Revoir! oh... wait.
2nd February 2008

Glad you are ok
Finally. I am so glad you are ok and with money now. The only way I am ever going to see these places is through you. Thanks for these blogs. Take care

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb