Welcome to the Jungle/Feliz Cumpleanos!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
November 21st 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok so i was expecting my birthday to be a bit of a non-event....well as b´days go it was up there!! Oh wait a minute before i tell you about that i´d better mention the night before!!

It was a quiet Tuesday night and to be honest I was knackered and ready for a quiet night......after dinner at about 9, Elvira the lady im staying with well her daughter and son in law come round and they both speak a bit of english...they are really cool people actually, very friendly and hospitable. Its about 11 and we are all still chatting and by now i´ve had a few cerveza negras (black beer) when Juan Carlos says do i fancy going for a drive to get my barings....sure why not a quick drive could be cool. We get in the car, Juan Carlos and his wife Maria in the fron (prob 35 - 40 years old) and me and 60+ Elvira in the back...so he says " you wanna break the law tonight?" obviously a tad scared at first i reluctantly agree, then realise he just means getting some beers for the drive....phew!!! (dont worry mum he wasnt drinking) Next thin
In the Blue kitchen............In the Blue kitchen............In the Blue kitchen............

We have Chris and Darren cooking up Papa a La Huayncaina!!!
i know he´s got the radio blasting out ´Welcome to the Jungle by Guns and Roses playing out loud as we cruise to the beach and stop at a bar for a few beers..even Elvira is jigging away in the back!! I couldnt stop smiling all night......obviously the laughter stopped when i got back home at 1:30 am and had to do my homework...like it isnt hard enough sober!!

Anyway onto my birthday...so it started off well with a couple of texts and C-Mac singing me ´Feliz CumpleaÑos which is their version of Happy B´day. At school honestly I was chuffed they made me a cake and sung to me and i got a few kisses off the peruvian teachers....all female i should add!

I went home for lunch and Elvira took me out to a Chifu...a kind of fusion of Chinese and Peruvian food....some of you may find this hard to believe but I over-ate. What I had neglected to remember was me and C-Mac had a Peruvian cooking class in the afternoon!

The class was a right laugh, we made a couple of local dishes and we were getting stuck in....at one point Chris attempted
Salut!Salut!Salut!

Enjoying a ´small´ beer on my birthday!
to say "Me gusta pollo" (i like chicken) instead as he was preparing the bird he said "mucho gusto pollo" which actually means "nice to meet you chicken" i could not stop laughing and then he laughed, then for some bizzare reason a school camera crew started filming us. It must be the worst footage they have ever taken, 2 grown men in tears of laughter!
We hadnt really thought about it but they plated the dinners up for us to eat, great...its not like I had a full on dinner 3 hours ago, still i think you all know what came next........thats right, I eat it all.

Which kind of explains why by 19:00 i was shivering and had a really bad stomache! When i got back to my house i had my first case of dodgy belly. In South America this is especially bad as you cannot put toilet paper in the toilet as it blocks it....and no I´m not kidding. You have to put it in the bin next to the loo..........the maid must love me.

Went to bed shivering with stomache pains that night....when will I learn!!

Ah well been invited to a fancy dress party on Friday night by one of the girls in our school....should be fun!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb