Lima in October


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
October 5th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MirafloresMirafloresMiraflores

I wish this was the view of Miraflores from our apartment.
It is difficult to believe that Melanie and I have been here for about two months already. Melanie has lived overseas before but this is new for me. It is interesting going through the daily routines down here in Lima which usually starts with walking 20 minutes to Spanish class. I just completed the month of September spanish class but this month I am going to test to see how disciplined I can be by studying by myself. I will give it a try for about a month and see what happens.

Check out the following youtube video to see what happens when I want to test out my Spanish skills on Melanie in the evening:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=ngRq82c8Baw

Melanie recently went on a week-long trip to Arequipa near the southern border of Peru to speak with doctors about a possible project. She said she had a productive time and it was nice to see the sun. She promises to write in future on this blog about her experiences.

Surfing has been a lot of fun in Peru with great waves about 70 km south of Lima. We have a few friends down here (Dave, Bailey, and Dan) who
BBQBBQBBQ

This is a group photo from a BBQ in Punta Hermosa. It is at the house of our friends Bailey and Ruby.
enjoy traveling south on quick morning sessions. I saw my first penquin in the lineup last weekend.....yea, they have penguins down here. Melanie just purchased a used surfboard down here and has been out a few times.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sunset in Punta HermosaSunset in Punta Hermosa
Sunset in Punta Hermosa

Sunset in Punta Hermosa (about 30 km South of Lima)
Class PhotoClass Photo
Class Photo

This is a picture from Bill's Spanish 6 class.
I Passed!I Passed!
I Passed!

Notice the proud expression on my face as I show off my 94% on my final Spanish 6 exam.
Gettin' A Little Surf!Gettin' A Little Surf!
Gettin' A Little Surf!

Melanie just bought a used board and she was about to take it out for the first time.
Guest RoomGuest Room
Guest Room

This is the guest room in the apartment.


10th October 2007

Congratulations!
Wow! 94%-- your students would be proud, Mr. Bergeron! Looks like you're having an amazing time down there; I'm super-duper jealous! Keep puttin' up the blogs because I love reading them!
10th October 2007

Missing you guys!
Aw! We miss you both up here in the northland. Disc just isn't the same without you. I'm back for an 8th year of IMs, but it's a long commute from Davis. Lost out on a bid to nationals in masters last weekend, but had a blast anyway. Glad to see you guys are getting some quality board time. Maybe by the time you get back I'll have the place up in Mendocino ready for visitors. Going up there tomorrow to try to get the place sealed up for the rains. Take care!
10th October 2007

One Semester of Spanish
Bill, Will you sing me the song?? Josie Ha-Ha Bill and Mel! Thanks for the blogs...you're keeping us laughing even from Peru! It's great to see what you guys are up to. Take care, Michele
12th October 2007

Looks Fun!
I am not sure I could score a 94% on an English test let alone Spanish. Looks like you are having a great time. I hope everything is going well. I know the students miss you and we need you playing basketball on Thursday nights. Take care..Kevin
16th October 2007

Go Beavs!
How 'bout them Beavers? Cal who? Golden Beavers? Hahaha...is OSU the upset king of college football or what? Did someone make another youtube collage of the Cal game like the USC game? Go Cardinal....umm...yeah... Eddie.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb