First Day in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
October 30th 2008
Published: October 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Church in PlazaChurch in PlazaChurch in Plaza

Church in Plaza
Landed in Cusco in the early afternoon today. On the flight I coincidentally spoke to some people who I had met from the plane from Atlanta two days earlier. I like Cusco very much. Many colonial churches, a large central square (Plaza de Armas), and many people. I looked for little Z´s carved into buildings until I realized I am not in Mexico - I would have a good emoticon to go with the comment, but this keyboard is a little confusing...

Anyway, I am experiencing the expected altitude sickness of the first day. Not too bad, but a little dizzy, faster heart rate, faster breathing. I think acclimation takes about a day. A German traveller at the hostel explained his was a little worse, with headaches.

If I can get pictues uploaded tonight they will show the plaza better than I describe. The street venders here are also quite persistent, but very friendly people. I was able to find a good restaurant myself this time though...

The town surrounding the plaza is.... quaint? I plan to walk around more tomorrow, and possibly see some local archeological sites and tours.







Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

CuscoAtNight2CuscoAtNight2
CuscoAtNight2

church or cathedral in the Plaza De Armas


30th October 2008

How confusing?
Too confusing to have an international TF2 lan party?

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb